Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 211B: Narrative & Descriptive Composition
Library Resource Guide
Prof. Teague Whalen

Locating Books & Government Documents

Library Catalog
Used primarily to locate the books and government documents the library owns. Keep in mind that books tend to give a broad understanding of a topic and are better sources when trying to find the history of a topic.

Cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns. Use one of the databases listed below for locating articles.


Journal, Magazine, and Newspaper Articles - General/All Subjects

Academic OneFile
A database of more than 8,000 scholarly and general periodicals from all fields of study. Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.

Access World News
Access World News provides information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all the content or on particular states, countries, or continents. Indexing is cover-to-cover and coverage extends for some titles back to the mid 1970s.


Journal Articles - Subject Specific

Medicine, Health, & Sports

Health & Wellness Resource Center
Contains many full text articles from journals in the health sciences. See also the Reference section of your results list. These articles contain information on identification, treatment, and prevention of a variety of diseases and disorders.

SportDiscus
The premier index covering all practical and research literature of international sports.

Medline
Index to periodical articles covering biomedical research and the clinical sciences including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, and pre-clinical sciences.


Computers and Technology (Information Technology, Construction, Computer Networks...)

Computer Database
Index to periodical articles covering all aspects of computer technology. Full-text articles are available for over 25% of the periodicals indexed.

Books 24x7
A collection of electronic books dealing with the many areas of computers and information technology including web publishing, e-commerce, programming languages and network security.


Business and Economics (Advertising, Starting a Business, Specific Industries..)

ABI/INFORM Global
The premier index to periodical articles covering all aspects of business. Full-text articles are available for over 60% of the periodicals indexed.


Natural Sciences (Geology, Environmental Issues..)

Geobase
A multidisciplinary database providing citations and abstracts to topics in physical geography, ecology, geography, oceanography, geomechanics, and international development studies.

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Covers all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, parasites, and more.


Social Sciences (Child Development, Law, Treatment of Alcoholism..)

LegalTrac
Index to periodical articles covering all aspects of law including international, business, and tax law. Full-text articles are available for over 100 of the periodicals indexed.


Style Guides

MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to MLA style.


Need Further Assistance?

You can contact the Reference Desk through the live chat service or by phone at 227-2294.

 



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours