Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 211D: College Composition II
Technical & Report Writing

Professor Carol Anderson

Library Resource Guide
(Library Map)

NMU Data Resources

NMU Five-Year Facilities (Capital Outlay) Master Plans
Mmaster plans dating back to 2002.

Office of Institutional Research (Dr. Paul Duby)
Provides reports on Student Profiles (by semester) such as Residence Hall Occupancy or commuters, and Academic Measures (e.g., class size).

Engineering & Planning
Includes design & construction projects (past, present, & future). Don't forget Facilities.

Roadmap to 2015
A link to the President's presentation as well as supporting materials.

NMU Office of the President
Of note here are transcripts of University Forums and Presidential speeches.

NMU News Bureau
Includes two periodicals produced by/about NMU, Campus Newsletter and Horizons Magazine , as well as an archive of news posted on their website.

The search engine for NMU's website, available from nearly all NMU web pages, has probably been a good resource.

President Wong spoke on NMU's Master Plan at the March 29th 2010 Marquette City Commission. Mining Journal news story, and minutes of the meeting at the City of Marquette website.

The Educational Policy Committee (a faculty senate committee) has a list of data links for NMU pointing out costs of majors, enrollment, etc.

Journal and Magazine Articles - General

General OneFile
Index to articles in over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Services.  Indexing begins in 1980 with full text starting in 1983.  Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.

Journal and Magazine Articles - Subject Specific

ABI INFORM/Global (Business)
This is the premier index to articles in all areas of business. Includes the full text articles to over a 1,000 of the more than 1,900 magazines and journals indexed.

ERIC (Education)
The premier index in the field of education, ERIC contains citations to scholarly/research journal articles as well as ERIC documents. Online full-text ERIC documents are available 1993-present.

Health and Wellness Resource Center (Nutrition/Medicine)
Contains a variety of types of literature covering medicine, consumer health, and wellness. Many sources are available in full text.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature including peer-reviewed papers, technical reports, and books. Results will include links to online articles through our subscriptions, or to search our library catalog.

Google Advanced Search
Use this to your advantage by searching for specific words and phrases from specific domains.

Librarian's Index to the Internet - Web sites evaluated by California librarians.

For a list of additional databases arranged by subject, see the library's Online Databases.


Newspapers

NewsLink
Campus newspapers listed by state (not all-inclusive, and not current!). Yahoo Directory of College & University Newspapers is another source. It, too, is not all-inclusive or current.

NorthWind Online coverage 2007-2009. Archives holds 1972-2007 issues in mircofilm.

Access World News
Access World News provides information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all 1,100 newspapers or individual states, countries, or continents. Indexing is cover-to-cover and coverage extends back to the mid 1970s for some titles. Excluded are any photos or graphs, along with paid advertising, classifieds, and paid obituaries.


Books and Other Library Materials

Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.  Cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns.  Use one of the databases listed above for locating articles.

Technical Writing with Style, by Ken Lachnicht. An electronic book published in 2008 (will require NMU username and password for access).


Citing Resources

MLA Style Guide
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53.
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Manual in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.

APA Style Guide
Reference Collection: BF 76.7 .P83 2001.
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association .  Consult the Manual in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.


Need Further Assistance?

Stop by the Public Services Desk to ask a reference librarian for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294.

 



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours