Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 211D: Technical & Report Writing
Julie Burn

Library Resource Guide

 

Newspaper Articles

Access World News
Access World News provides information and perspectives from over 800 U.S. and over 1300 international news sources. You can search across all the content or on particular states, countries, or continents. Indexing is cover-to-cover and coverage extends for some titles back to the mid 1970s. Excluded are any photos or graphs, along with paid advertising, classifieds, and paid obituaries.

Datebases

JSTOR   — the complete, searchable, full text articles from over 1,000 core scholarly journals. Coverage: 1878 to "moving wall" of 1-5 years before the most recently published issue.

English Subject specific databases: These four databases are groupded together for easy access they include: Project Muse, MLA International,Literature Resoure Center and JHU World Shakespeare Bibliography online.

 

E-Books

The collection of e-books continues to grow at Olson Library.

 

Borrowing Materials from Other Libraries

MelCat , the Michigan Electronic Library Catalog, allows you to search public and academic libraries throughout the State of Michigan and request books and media. Items usually arrive in about a week. This resource is provided by the Michigan eLibrary ( http://mel.org ). You will be notified by email when your items arrive.

InterLibrary Loan also allows you to obtain materials not owned by the Olson LIbrary. Books, periodical articles,and other sources can be borrowed from other libraries. The average time to recieve requested materials is 1-2 weeks and you will be notified by email when your items arrive.

Style Guides

MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to MLA style

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to APA style

Zotero
Zotero is a free extension to Mozilla Firefox. It stores citation information, and, with the use of Microsoft Word, will allow you to create citations as you write your paper and then create your works cited page at the end. You can download the extension at http://www.zotero.org/. The Olson Library provides a guide for the use of Zotero as well.

 


Need further assistance? Stop by the Olson Library Public Services Desk for assistance, or contact SaraJane Tompkins



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours