Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 211D: Technical & Report Writing
Ron Johnson

Library Resource Guide

 

Newspaper Articles

Access World News
Access World News provides information and perspectives from over 800 U.S. and over 1300 international news sources. You can search across all the content or on particular states, countries, or continents. Indexing is cover-to-cover and coverage extends for some titles back to the mid 1970s. Excluded are any photos or graphs, along with paid advertising, classifieds, and paid obituaries.

Subject-Specific Resources

Business (including Hospitality and Advertising)

ABI/INFORM Global – Journal articles, newspapers, and reports covering all aspects of business. Direct company link to Hoover's company information & analysis. 1971 to present.

Legal Materials

Westlaw Campus Research – Provides access to a variety of legal information, including federal and state case law, the United States Code Annotated, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register, state statutes and administrative codes, and more. Also included are 900 law journals and reviews.

Science, Health, and Nursing

CINAHL Plus with Full Text – Journals, books, and other resources on subjects including nursing, emergency services, nutrition, occupational therapy, physical therapy, optometry, public health, speech-language pathology & audiology, and surgical technology. 1937 to present.

Health & Wellness Resource Center (with Alternative Health Module) – Contains a variety of literature covering medicine, consumer health, nursing, wellness, and alternative therapies. 1980 to present. Brought to you by the State of Michigan via the Michigan Electronic Library (http://mel.org).

Health Reference Center Academic – Journal articles, books, and other resources related to nursing, allied health, and personal health information. 1980 to present.

PubMed – Journal articles covering biomedical research and the clinical sciences including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, and pre-clinical sciences. Also good coverage of literature in cellular and molecular biology and biochemistry. Mid 1960's to present.

Science.gov – Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.

SPORTDiscus – Journals, books, and other resources on sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, training techniques, coaching, physical education, and more. 1859 to present.

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide – Journals, books, and other resources on ecology, wildlife, and wildlife management.1935 to present.

Current Issues

CQ Researcher – In-depth, non-biased reports on political and social issues, with regular coverage of topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

CQ Weekly – Weekly coverage of issues in the U.S. Congress and Washington.

Borrowing Materials from Other Libraries

MelCat, the Michigan Electronic Library Catalog, allows you to search public and academic libraries throughout the State of Michigan and request books and media. Items usually arrive in about a week. This resource is provided by the Michigan eLibrary (http://mel.org). You will be notified by email when your items arrive.

InterLibrary Loan also allows you to obtain materials not owned by the Olson LIbrary. Books, periodical articles,and other sources can be borrowed from other libraries. The average time to recieve requested materials is 1-2 weeks and you will be notified by email when your items arrive.

Style Guides

MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to MLA style

Zotero
Zotero is a free extension to Mozilla Firefox. It stores citation information, and, with the use of Microsoft Word, will allow you to create citations as you write your paper and then create your works cited page at the end. You can download the extension at http://www.zotero.org/. The Olson Library provides a guide for the use of Zotero as well.

Microsoft Word
You can also store and format citations in Microsoft Word. Click here for instructions.


Need further assistance? Stop by the Olson Library Public Services Desk for assistance, or contact Mollie Freier.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours