Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 211D: Technical & Report Writing
Jamie Kuehnl

Library Resource Guide

Books and Other Library Materials

Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.  Cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns.  Use one of the databases listed below for locating articles.

MelCat
A catalog of holdings from libraries all across Michigan. Order directly through Melcat.

Library Map


Locating Journal and Magazine Articles

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature including peer-reviewed papers, technical reports, and books. Look for the "Full-Text @ NMU" link to obtain an electronic copy of the article or the "Locate a print copy @ NMU" to see if the library has the item in our print collection. Google Scholar is also a great tool for finding other articles related to one's you already have. Search for the title of an article you have and click the "Cited by" link in the results list to see other articles related to this one.


Career Resources

Occupational Outlook Handbook
This resource will tell you what credentials a chosen field requires and what the employment prospects are. It is also available in print (call number HD 8051.A62 2008/2009).

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, 14th edition. Ref HF 5381.E52 2008. 5 vols.


 

Newspapers

Access World News
Access World News provides information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all the content or on particular states, countries, or continents. Indexing is cover-to-cover and coverage extends for some titles back to the mid 1970s. Excluded are any photos or graphs, along with paid advertising, classifieds, and paid obituaries.


User Guides

Evaluating Internet Sources
A list of 6 criteria to apply when evaluating information found on the web.

AMA Style Guides
Olson Library has not created a guide for this style, but there are two available: one, from the Samford University Library, and another from the Health Sciences Library of the New York Medical College. Examples of how to cite common sources, according to the 9th edition of the AMA Manual of Style. The 10th edition of this work is in the Reference Collection: R119 .A533 2007.

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.  Consult the Manual in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.
Reference Collection: BF 76.7 P83

Chicago Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the Chicago Manual of Style.  Consult the Manual in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.
Reference Collection: Z 253 .U69.

International Committee of Medical Journal Editors Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals: Sample References
From the National Library of Medicine: National Institutes of Health.

MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Handbook in the library Reference Collection for sources not listed at this site.
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53.

Turabian Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations:.  Consult the Manual in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .T8.


Further Assistance

If you need help with any of these resources you can ask for assistance at the Library's Reference Desk (227-2294 or live chat). Or ask Mollie Freier (x1061).



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours