Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 211D - Technical & Report Writing
Dr. Matherne

Product Evaluation Resources & Databases Search Strategies

Prof. Mike Strahan, Olson Library (227-2463)

Olson Library "Ask A Librarian" reference assistance including interactive chat (227-2294) or (info@nmu.edu)

MLA Style Reference Formats Guide includes examples of how to cite materials in both paper
and online formats.

Library Catalog contains records for books, journal titles, government documents, etc., in a variety of formats (including online) held by NMU, LSSU, Finlandia U., and GCC libraries.  (Note:  Does not contain articles which appear in journals--see Searching/Locating Article Records below.)

Library Map


Searching/Locating Article Records & Online Materials Through Databases
NOTES:
Students MUST HAVE NMU computer/e-mail ID & password to access FirstSearch and most other subscription databases when connecting via another Internet Provider (e.g., school district, up.net, Charter, etc.). Click here to retrieve your information.  NMU students may connect directly to the Internet via MERIT at no cost to them. Determine your local MERIT phone number.


General Consumer Web Sites Computers & Electronics/Tech Web Sites Household/Home-related Web Site
ConsumerSearch
"Reviewing the Reviewers"
(includes links to article citations & online articles)
TechTV use "Products & Reviews" links on the left side, not "search" box.  Includes video segments.

James Dulley - syndicated columnist
Use Word Search Column Topics
Examples include: windmills, gas fireplaces, central vacuums, etc.

Note: Update Bulletins/Buyer's Guides are not free online, but articles with descriptive illustrations are priceless!


Epinions - Consumer Opinion Site

ZDNET various computer publications  
Active Buyers Guide - Product Decision Maker
(Note: Basic Search is quicker than Decision Guide)
   
ConsumerWorld - directory of 2,000+ Consumer Resources

   

 

Database Name  Full-Text = full-text/image

Search Strategy Format Examples to combine with product

General OneFile Full-Text  (over 4,300 magazines & journals online full-text/image)

Indexes almost 50 consumer-specific magazines & journals; 13 are online full-text/image including Consumer Reports (January 2003-present).  Color illustrations.  Uses InfoTrac interface.

Key word (ke)

evaluation OR "product review" OR "buyers guide" OR comparison OR top


ABI/INFORM Global   Full-Text (over 1,000 Business-related magazines & journals online full-text/image)

Easy ability to limit search to specific journals through "More Search Options" (lower left corner), or search within a specific periodical.

The best database covering all areas
of Business.  Also includes Hoover's background information on companies, and Wall Street Journal full-text.

Indexes 11 consumer-specific magazines & journals; 10 are online full-text/image including Consumer Reports (1996-2002) & Consumer Reports Publisher's Edition including supplemental guides & annual buying guide (2002-present).  Uses ProQuest interface.

Article Type

 


review

 

 

Computer Database Full-Text
Indexes periodical articles covering all aspects of computer technology. Full-text/full-image articles are available for over 25% of the 625+ periodicals indexed. Also includes product reviews/evaluations.  Color illustrations.  Uses InfoTrac interface.

Key word (ke)

"hardware review" OR evaluation OR "product review" OR "buyers guide" OR comparison* OR top

"software review" OR evaluation OR "product review" OR "buyers guide" OR comparison OR top

 

 


e-books:? EBSCO eBook Collection?(general & scholarly)? Books24x7 (illustrated computer books)


Acquiring materials not held by Olson Library

(Note: Before submitting request, must verify through NMU library catalog that we do not own book/video/etc., or subscribe to journal/magazine issue in either paper or online formats.)

Interlibrary Loan — General Information
Submit requests while in FirstSearch by clicking on ILL Interlibrary at top-left of page. When not using FirstSearch, submit requests via ILL Request Form.
Allow minimum of 7-10 days (2-3 weeks during February & October) to receive materials. May take up to 30 days for obscure titles.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours