Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 211D: Technical & Report Writing
Liz Monske

Library Resource Guide


Need Assistance searching databases or choosing correct terms?

 

You can contact the Reference Librarian through the live chat service, phone at 227-2250, or e-mail.

Library Materials

Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.  Cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns.  Use one of the databases listed below for locating articles.

WorldCat
A catalog of library holdings from all over the world. You can use the links to InterLibrary Loan to request materials that we don't own.

InterLibrary Loan
Information about using InterLibrary Loan through the Olson Library.

Library Map

Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers


Journal and Magazine Articles - General/All Subjects

Academic OneFile
A database of more than 8,000 scholarly and general periodicals from all fields of study. Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.

Journal Articles - Subject-specific

Applied Science, Environment, Conservation, Geology, General Sciences, Forestry, Technology

AGRICOLA (Collection of National Agricultural Library) — Index to scholarly and trade journal articles from all areas of agriculture including forestry, and earth & environmental sciences.

Business, Stocks, Computer Technology, Finance ABI/INFORM Global Full-Text — Contains records from nearly 2,000 Business & Economics scholarly & professional journals.  Over 50% online full-text/full-image including The Wall Street Journal.

General Business File ASAP Full-Text — Contains records from over 2,700 Business & Economics scholarly & professional journals, newspapers, and wire services.  Over 58% online full-text/full-image. 

Computer DatabaseFull-Text — Indexes periodical articles covering all aspects of computer technology and systems. Full-text/full-image articles are available for over 25% of the 625+ periodicals indexed. Also includes product reviews/evaluations.

Social Sciences
(better than CrossSearch)
Simultaneously Search Psychology & Sociology databases
Includes PsycARTICLES & PsycBOOKS full-text, PsycINFO, Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, ERIC (Education), National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts, & PILOTS (Citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.)
Criminal Justice

NCJRS Abstracts (Criminal Justice) -- Index to law enforcement and criminal justice material including corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, and victims of crime.

Education

ERIC  — Contains records for scholarly & trade journal articles, and ERIC Documents (ED's) (reports/documents, theses, dissertations, and conference papers).

Law

LegalTrac Full-Text — Contains records for scholarly and trade/professional law journals & legal resources.

Medicine, including Nursing and Sports Medicine

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing) -- The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature covers nursing, emergency services, nutrition, occupational therapy, physical therapy, optometry, public health, speech-language pathology & audiology, and surgical technology.

Medline (via PubMed) -- This index is through the National Library of Medicine and includes articles on biomedical research and the clinical sciences including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, and pre-clinical sciences.

Sport Discus -- This index covers the sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, training techniques, among other subjects.

Psychology

PsycARTICLES --A database of full-text articles in English from more than fifty peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.

PsycBooks -- A collection of electronic books, book chapters, essays, and conferences written in English, and available in PDF full-text. Works deal with psychology and psychiatry, and are published by the American Psychological Association and classic books from other publishers. Includes the 8-volume Encyclopedia of Psychology (2000).

PsycINFO -- An abstract database of psychological literature from 1805–present published by the American Psychological Association. Materials in this database deal with psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including: anthropology, business, education, law, linguistics, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, physiology, psychiatry, and sociology. Indexes books, book chapters, journals, theses and dissertations, reports, and other secondary publications plus foreign language periodicals written in over 25 languages. Also included are over 20 million cited references from journal articles, books, and book chapters.

PTSD PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress)
Produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, and indexes journal articles, books, theses/dissertations, and other resources. The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

Newspapers

Access World News
Access World News provides information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all the content or on particular states, countries, or continents. Indexing is cover-to-cover and coverage extends for some titles back to the mid 1970s. Excluded are any photos or graphs, along with paid advertising, classifieds, and paid obituaries.


Internet Resources

Evaluating Internet Sources

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to APA style.

Chicago Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to Chicago style.

MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to MLA style.

Turabian Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to Turabian.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours