Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 211D - College Composition II:
Technical & Report Writing

Professor Cate Terwilliger

Library Resource Guide

Newspapers

Access World News
Access World News provides information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all the content or on particular states, countries, or continents. Indexing is cover-to-cover and coverage extends for some titles back to the mid 1970s. Excluded are any photos or graphs, along with paid advertising, classifieds, and paid obituaries.

New York Times
Microfilm Collection:  AP 2 .N45

Detroit Free Press
Microfilm Collection:  AP 2 .D47

Mining Journal (Marquette)
NMU Archives, LRC 1st. Floor (open M-F, 8am-12; 1-5pm)

The Times (London)
Microfilm Collection:  AN 4 .T4

The Wall Street Journal
Microfilm Collection:  HG 1 .W3


Timeline or Event Sources

Annual Register: A Record of World Events
Reference Collection:  D 2 .A7

Encyclopedia Britannica: Book of the Year
Reference Collection:  AE 5 .E364

World Almanac
Reference Collection:  AY 67 .N5 W7

Oxford Reference Online
Includes timelines related to various themes and countries. Also includes a 20th-century timeline.

Scope System's Historic Events & Birthdays

Timelines of History

History Channel: This Day in History

On This Day

ANYDAY Today in History

Library of Congress Today in History

BBC News On This Day

InfoPlease.com


Databases and Indexes (for finding more information on a known event)

General OneFile (1980-present)

Reader's Guide Retrospective (1900-1982)

New York Times Index
Reference Indexes & Abstracts:  AI 2 .N45

The Times (London) Index
Reference Indexes & Abstracts:  AI 21 .T46

You can also browse the popular weeklies such as:
Newsweek: AP 2 .N6772;   Maclean's: AP 5 .M2;  Time: AP 2 .T37;  Sports Illustrated: GV 561 .S733;  U.S. News & World Report: AP 2 .U53; and Rolling Stone: Mircrofilm AP 2 .R73.


Government Documents

Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, and government documents the library owns.  Searching your birth date as an exact phrase (march 13 1985) will locate any Senate or House of Representative committee hearings held on that date in our government documents collection.

Google's UncleSam
Google's search engine for locating government documents on the web.

USAGov.gov
The U. S. government's official web portal.  Also searches state government documents.


APA Style

APA Style Guide
Reference Collection: BF 76.7 .P83 2001.
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.  Consult the Manual in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.

MLA Style

MLA Style Guide
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53.
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.  Consult the Handbook in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.


For further assistance, stop by the Reference Desk, call (227-2294), or use the live chat.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours