Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN211D : Technical and Report Writing

Russell Thorburn

Instruction Provided by Rachel O. Jorgensen


Library Resources

Library Catalog: The library catalog catalogs (naturally) books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials that Olson library owns. To find magazine or journal articles, use the resources listed below.


Reference Resources

Biography Reference Bank: Journal articles, books, and other resources offering biographical information on individuals living and deceased. Also contains over 36,000 images.

Oxford Reference Online Premium: Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts.


Article Databases

JSTOR: Complete, searchable, full text articles from over 1,000 core scholarly journals, spanning from about 1878 to the most recent 1-5 years.

MLA International Bibliography: Journals, books, and other resources in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Also includes materials on film studies. 1926 to present.

Literature Resource Center: Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.

Project Muse: Full-text articles from more than 200 scholarly journals in history and the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences. Disciplines covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Google Scholar: This is a database that collects material from across the "broad spectrum of scholarly research."

Google Book Search: Google states that you can "search full text over 7 million books in 40 languages."


Movie Reviews

The New York Times: Can do keyword search to find movie reviews published in this newspaper; full-text available for most things. We also have the Times available in microfilm.

LA Times: Like the NY Times has keyword search capability.


Keyword Searching

Keyword searches can be used in the library catalog and article databases; they are important because these searches allow you to find materials without knowing the title or author of a work. Trent University in Canada has a good on-line tutorial for keyword searching if you get confused or need more help.

For example, if you wanted to find books or articles on the the book The Hunger, your keywords would be "Hunger" and "Knut Hamsun ," or just "Knut Hamsun."

Remember, you have to command the database to do the search in a particular way -- the way that will provide you with relevant search results. This is done by combining keywords using the Boolean Operators and, or, not.

AND: Retrieves all terms.

OR: Retrieves items that have either one of two search terms.

NOT: Tells the database to ignore records that have a certain term. Ex: Brittany not spaniel . This search would retrieve articles that have the term "Brittany," as in the region, not the dog breed.

Confused? Justin Bloom at the University of Nevada, Reno does a good job of defining these terms at the Mathewson--IGT Knowledge Center.

***If you get zero results you either need to expand your search by using a more general keyword and/or using synonyms for your keywords. If you get too many results, your search should be narrowed by adding keywords to make the search more specific to your topic.***


Library Help

If you're having problems finding materials don't hesitate to ask a librarian for help, just come up to the reference desk. Or, you can get help via chat here.

You can email me at: rajorgen@nmu.edu



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours