EN 211E: Critical Thinking and Writing
Library Resource Guide
Help available from or Dr. Mollie Freier
Used primarily to locate the books and government documents the library owns. Keep in mind that books tend to give a broad understanding of a topic and are better sources when trying to find the history of a topic.
Cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns. Use one of the databases listed below for locating articles.
A weekly publication covering the critical events and controversial subjects of the day. Each issue offers an in-depth analysis of a contemporary topic. A good source for selecting a topic since you can browse issues by topic. Also available in-print from 1991-2003 in the bound Periodicals Collection (call number: H 35 .E352).
Specialized search engine covering both federal and state government web sites.
A database of more than 8,000 scholarly and general periodicals from all fields of study. Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.
Access World News
Access World News provides information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all the content or on particular states, countries, or continents. Indexing is cover-to-cover and coverage extends for some titles back to the mid 1970s.
MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to MLA style.
APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to APA style.
Zotero is a free extension to Mozilla Firefox. It stores citation information, and, with the use of Microsoft Word, will allow you to create citations as you write your paper and then create your works cited page at the end. You can download the extension at http://www.zotero.org/. The Olson Library provides a guide for the use of Zotero as well.
You can also store and format citations in Microsoft Word. Click here for instructions.
Need further assistance? Stop by the Olson Library Public Services Desk for assistance, or contact Mollie Freier.