EN 309: Teaching of Writing
Library Resource Guide
ERIC – Journal articles, books, and other resources relating to education--from early childhood to higher education. Views 'education' very broadly and covers areas such as outdoor education, corporate training, speech language therapy, etc. 1966 to present.
PsycARTICLES – Sixty full text journals from the American Psychological Association and other publishers. 1985 to present.
PsycBOOKS – Full text of over 1,500 scholarly books and 23,700 book chapters by the American Psychological Association and other publishers. Subject matter covers psychology and psychiatry, and includes the 8-volume Encyclopedia of Psychology (2000).
PsycINFO – Journals, books, and other resources covering psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including: anthropology, business, education, law, linguistics, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, physiology, and sociology. 1805 to present.
SocAbs (Sociological Abstracts) — Indexes scholarly/professional journals, books, book chapters, reports/documents, theses & dissertations, conference papers, and web sites. Many current records include cited references (searchable). Covers material published 1952-present.
Borrowing Materials from Other Libraries
MelCat, the Michigan Electronic Library Catalog, allows you to search public and academic libraries throughout the State of Michigan and request books and media. Items usually arrive in about a week. This resource is provided by the Michigan eLibrary (http://mel.org). You will be notified by email when your items arrive.
InterLibrary Loan also allows you to obtain materials not owned by the Olson LIbrary. Books, periodical articles,and other sources can be borrowed from other libraries. The average time to recieve requested materials is 1-2 weeks and you will be notified by email when your items arrive.
Style guides and citation managers
APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common types of sources, including web sites and online journal articles, according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th ed. Consult the Manual in the Reference Collection (BF 76.7 P83) for further information or types of sources not listed here.
MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Handbook in the library Reference Collection for sources not listed at this site.
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53
Citations in MSWord
Zotero is a free extension to Mozilla Firefox. It stores citation information, and, with the use of Microsoft Word, will allow you to create citations as you write your paper and then create your works cited page at the end. You can download the extension at http://www.zotero.org/. The Olson Library provides a guide for the use of Zotero as well.
You can also save bibliographic information and format citations in MSWord. Click here for instructions.
Need Further Assistance?
Stop by the Public Services Desk for further assistance with any of these sources. You can also contact the Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2250.
You can contact Mollie Freier by e-mail or by phone: 227-1061.