EN 311Z: World Literature in English: Caribbean
Library Resource Guide
Literary Criticism Sources
Literature Resource Center
Provides access to three recognized author collections from Gale Publishers--Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography--along with over 300 journals, a variety of other important reference works, and selected Web sites. When searching for your particular work, change the drop-down menu on the search screen to "All Text (tx)" for best results.
When looking for literary criticism or biographical information in the library catalog, select the Library of Congress Subject Heading button and enter the author's name, last name first (ex. Stein, Gertrude). Pay particular attention to the subheading Criticism and Interpretation (Stein, Gertrude - Criticism and Interpretation).
MLA International Bibliography (1926-present)
The premier index to scholarly publications of all kinds (books, articles, theses, etc.) in the field of literature. Use the button to determine if the library owns a particular book or journal article.
Google's index to the scholarly literature. Covers all subjects and disciplines. Look for the "Full-Text @ NMU" link to obtain an electronic copy of the article or the "Locate a print copy @ NMU" to see if the library has the item in our print collection.
Additional Sources for Historical Context
Electronic Reference Sources
Links to electronic encyclopedias and collections of digitized resources that may prove helpful. There are sub-sections on History and English; click on the links on the left to get to them.
The electronic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica.
If our library doesn't have the books you need, you should then search MeLCat, the Michigan electronic Library Catalog. You can request items from over 250 public and academic libraries in the state of Michigan. You will usually receive items requested through MeLCat in about a week.
Worldwide, use WorldCat (Note: To retrieve & view online theses & dissertations, enter key words, click on "Internet Resources" & change "Any Content" drop box to "Thesis/dissertation".
Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain materials not owned by Olson Library. Materials such as books and periodical articles, among other sources, can be borrowed from other libraries. The average time to receive requested materials is 1-2 weeks and you will be notified by email when your items arrive. Consult the above link to submit a request and for further details.
MLA Style Guide
LB2369 .G53 2009.
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Handbook in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.
You may contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2250.