Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 322: Restoration and 18th Century British Literature and Culture
Russell Prather

Library Resource Guide

MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to MLA style.

Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.  Cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns.  Use one of the databases listed below for locating articles.


Useful Tools for Literary Analysis Essay

Biographical Information Sources

Search the Literary Index to determine if your author is listed in these multivolume sets.

Dictionary of Literary Biography
(DLB)
Reference Collection: PN 451 .D52
Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook (DLBY)
Reference Collection: PN 451 .D526
Each entry in this 300+ volume set includes a 7-15 page biographical essay as well as a list of the authors writings since the essay was published.  Entries conclude with a list of references. Valuable for gaining insight into themes, motives, and other influences of an author's writing.

Something About the Author
Reference Collection: PN 451.S6
Provides a comprehensive listing of writings as well as a bibliography of collections, selections and adaptations for author's works. It also provides a reader of a walk through of major events in the author's life.


Literary Criticism Information Sources

MLA International Bibliography (1963-present)
Indexes Collection: P1 .M65 (1921-1963)
The premier index to scholarly publications in the field of literature.  Use the printed indexes for information published before 1963.


Journal, Magazine Articles and Books(library subscription databases)

ACLS Humanities E-Book Project
A collection of high-quality full-text books in all areas of history. These scholarly works are of major importance to historical studies which are frequently cited in the literature. Includes in-print, out-of-print, and rare titles.

JSTOR
The complete, searchable, full text articles from over 160 core scholarly journals (every issue up to the last 1-5 years). Journals are divided into the following 16 disciplines: African American studies, anthropology, asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, general science, history, language & literature, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics.

General OneFile
Index to articles in over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Services.  Indexing begins in 1980 with full text starting in 1983.  Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.


Web Resources

The Spectator- an 18th Century British periodical has a helpful search engine but must download software to use and Project Gutenberg- has downloadable full-text for the Spectator.

Voice of the Shuttle, resources in Restoration and 18th Century British Literature


Need Further Assistance?

Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294.

 



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours