Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


Online Databases Library Services Research Tools Obtain Help Library Catalog Library Home Link to NMU Home Page

EN 330 British Romantic Literature
Professor Russ Prather

Library Resource Guide
Prepared by Mike Burgmeier

Locating Books

Library Catalog
Start by entering a broad subject, and selecting the Library of Congress Subject Headings button. You can then browse a list of headings that contain a variety of subheadings (Romanticism, England, History, 19th Century). As you look at various books, pay attention to the subject headings that have been assigned to that item. This will lead you to additional subjects you can search. Keep exploring new subject headings until you have exhausted all possible headings. See the list of selected headings to get you started.

You can also perform keyword searches (from the Guided Search screen) using a variety of the the headings you come across. Keep in mind the more terms you enter, the less number of results you reteive (England, History, 19th Century = 485 sources; England, History, 19th Century, German = 7 sources).

If you are looking for information about a particular author, enter the authors name (last name first) and select the Library of Congress Subject Headings button. Look for subheadings such as biography, criticism and interpretation, as well as individual works).


Locating Journal Articles

MLA
The premier index to scholarly publications (journals, books, proceedings, etc.) in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics. Use the "Search for Full Text" icon to locate journal articles or search the library catalog to determine if Olson Library own other materials (books, proceedings, bibliographies, etc.).

JSTOR
Completely full text, this collection of over 200 journals in a variety of fields contains nearly the complete run of a particular journal title, some as far back as 1878. There are 39 journals in history, 16 in literature, and 17 in philosophy.


Other Resources

Dictionary of Literary Biography (v. 93, 96, 107, 110, 116 & 156): Call Number: Ref. PN 451.D52
These 6 volumes of the DLB cover the British romantic novelists, poets, prose writers, and short-fiction writers. Volume 110 has a nice appendix on literary reviewing that coversthe many publications available during this time period. See the list of references at the end of each entry.

The Times (London) 1788-1996
Available in microfilm located in cabinets behind the reference desk (call number: AN 4 .T4). Photocopies are available for .10 cents/page. Use Palmer's Index to the Times Newspaper to locate articles on particular subject.

Palmer's Index to the Times Newpaper (1790-1905)
Located in the Indexes & Abstracts section of the library (call number: AI 21 .T46), this index will give the date and page numbers of articles listed under various subjects.

Voice of the Shuttle, English Literature by Period, Romantics
A thorough list of links to web site covering romantic writers as well as a variety of topic related to romanticism.


Borrowing Materials From Other Libraries

Interlibrary Loan
Use interlibrary loan to obtain materials (books, articles, etc.) Olson Library does not own. While the average time to obtain materials through interlibrary loan is 7-14 days, it can take longer so submit requests early.


MLA Style

MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.  Consult the Handbook in the library reference collection (Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53.) for sources not listed at this site.


Need Further Assistance?

You can contact Mike Burgmeier by email or by phone at 227-2187.

You can also contact the Reference Desk through the live chat service, in person, or by phone at 227-2294.

 



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours