Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 360: Modern British Literature
Professor Caroline Z. Krzakowski

Library Resource Guide

Literary Criticism Sources

 

MLA International Bibliography (1926-present)
The premier index to scholarly publications of all kinds (books, articles, theses, etc.) in the field of literature.

Literature Resource Center
Provides access to three recognized author collections from Gale Publishers--Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography--along with over 300 journals, a variety of other important reference works, and selected Web sites. When searching for a particular work, change the drop-down menu on the search screen to "All Text (tx)" for best results.

Library Catalog
When looking for literary criticism or biographical information in the library catalog, select the Library of Congress Subject Heading button and enter the author's name, last name first (ex. Stein, Gertrude).  Pay particular attention to the subheading Criticism and Interpretation (Stein, Gertrude - Criticism and Interpretation).

Central Upper Peninsula and NMU Archives
The Archives accepts, organizes, stores, and makes accessible records (both paper and electronic) from central Upper Peninsula businesses, public and private organizations, governments, individuals and the Northern Michigan University community. The Library's Special Collections are also located in the Archives.


Full-text Resources

Oxford English Dictionary
THe electronic version of "the definitive record of the English language."

Hathi Trust Digital Library
Scanned volumes published before 1924.

Internet Archive
Full-text and scans of many works published before 1924.

ACLS Humanities E-Book – A collection of high-quality full-text books in the humanities and social sciences. Over 4,300 titles and growing annually. 1900 to present.

ARTstor – A digital library of nearly 1.4 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Images can be used for noncommercial educational and scholarly uses.


Borrowing Materials From Other Libraries

If our library doesn't have the books you need, you should then search MeLCat, the Michigan electronic Library Catalog. You can request items from over 250 public and academic libraries in the state of Michigan. You will usually receive items requested through MeLCat in about a week.

Worldwide, use WorldCat  (Note: To retrieve & view online theses & dissertations, enter key words, click on "Internet Resources" & change "Any Content" drop box to "Thesis/dissertation").

Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain materials not owned by Olson Library.  Materials such as books and periodical articles, among other sources, can be borrowed from other libraries.  The average time to receive requested materials is 1-2 weeks and you will be notified by email when your items arrive. 


MLA Style

MLA Style Guide
Reference Collection: LB2369 .G53 2016.
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook.  Consult the Handbook in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.

Zotero
Zotero is a free extension to Mozilla Firefox. It stores citation information, and, with the use of Microsoft Word, will allow you to create citations as you write your paper and then create your works cited page at the end. You can download the extension at http://www.zotero.org/. The Olson Library provides a guide for the use of Zotero as well.


Need Further Assistance?

You may contact me at mfreier@nmu.edu or at 227-1061. If you cannot reach me, you may contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2250.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours