Biographical Information Sources
Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale)
Reference Collection: PN 451 .D52
Over 15 volumes of this 300 volume (and growing) set focus on dramatists. Each entry includes a 7-15 page biographical essay as well as a list of the authors writings since the essay was published. Articles conclude with a list of references. This publication makes a good source for identifying an author and potential works to read. Also valuable for gaining insight into themes, motives, and other influences of an author's writing. Use the Literary Index to determine if your author has been listed in this multivolume set.
Contemporary Authors (Gale)
Reference Collection: PN 771 .C65
Contains short biographical essays on thousands of writers in this 200 volume (and growing) set. Also gives a comprehensive listing of writings as well as a bibliography of biographical and critical sources for each author. Use the Literary Index to determine if your author has been listed in this multivolume set.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
An index to more than 13 million biographical sketches found in hundreds of standard reference sources. Since Olson Library does not own all of the souces, consult the library catalog to determine if we have a particular reference title.
When searching for biographical information in the library catalog, be sure to search from the title/author/subject search screen. Also, select the Library of Congress Subject Heading search button and enter the authors last name first (ex. O'Neill, Eugene).
Biography Reference Bank (1984-present)
Indexes Collection: AP 2 .B5 (1946-1983)
An index to biographical infomation found in over 2,700 periodicals and 1,800 books. Use the printed indexes for information published before 1984.
Literary Criticism Information Sources
Contemporary Literary Criticism (Gale)
Reference Collection: PN 771 .C5
This multivolume set provides excerpts from articles found in a variety of literary criticism sources. Since only an except of the article is included in this source you will need to track down the original for the complete text. Use the Literary Index to determine if your author has been listed in this multivolume set.
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (Gale)
Reference Collection: PN 94 .G35
This multivolume set also provides excerpts from articles found in a variety of literary criticism sources. Use the Literary Index to determine if your author has been listed in this multivolume set.
MLA International Bibliography (1926-present)
The premier index to scholarly publications in the field of literature.
Search the library catalog from the title/author/subject search screen. Select the Library of Congress Subject Heading search button and enter the authors last name first (ex. O'Neill, Eugene). Look for the subheading Criticism and Interpretation or titles of individual works (O'Neill, Eugene --Long Day's Journey Into Night)
IPL Literary Criticism Collection
An excellent site offered by the Internet Public Library that provides links to critical and biographical sites about individual authors.
Book Review Index (1965-2003)
Indexes Collection: Z 1035 .A1 B6
Another source of potential book reviews.
MLA Style Guide
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53.
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Handbook in the library's reference collection for sources not listed at this site.
Borrowing Materials From Other Libraries
Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain materials not owned by the Olson Library. Materials such as books and periodical articles, among other sources, can be borrowed from other libraies. The average time to receive requested materials is 1-2 weeks and you will be notified by email when your items arrive. Consult the link above to submit a request and for further details.
Need Further Assistance?