Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


 

EN 363: Studies in Genre, Drama
Professor Dominic Ording

Library Resource Guide

Library Map

Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers

 

Locating Books

 Library Catalog Start by entering a broad subject, and selecting the Library of Congress Subject Headings button. You can then browse a list of headings that contain a variety of subheadings (Shakespeare, Renaissance , History, 14th Century). As you look at various books, pay attention to the subject headings that have been assigned to that item. This will lead you to additional subjects you can search. Keep exploring new subject headings until you have exhausted all possible headings..

Oxford Reference Online Online full-text (some with illustrations) reference books. Includes Oxford Companion series, over 120 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Literature Resource Center
Provides access to three recognized author collections from Gale Publishers--Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography--along with over 300 journals, a variety of other important reference works, and selected Web sites. Also included is a literary-historical timeline with over 6,700 events to help place literature in its historical and social context, and Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature , featuring more than 10,000 descriptive entries on literary figures, works, and terms.

 

Locating Journal Articles

MLA
The premier index to scholarly publications (journals, books, proceedings, etc.) in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics. Use the "Search for Full Text" icon to locate journal articles or search the library catalog to determine if Olson Library own other materials (books, proceedings, bibliographies, etc.). .

General OneFile
Index to articles in over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Services.  Indexing begins in 1980 with full text starting in 1983.  Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.

JSTOR
Completely full text, this collection of over 200 journals in a variety of fields contains nearly the complete run of a particular journal title, some as far back as 1878. There are 39 journals in history, 16 in literature, and 17 in philosophy.

 

Internet Sources

Librarians’ Index to the Internet (LII)
Sometimes it’s hard finding what you want through a standard search engine: too many results and not enough relevance. LII is maintained by a group of librarians whose motto is to locate “Information You Can Trust.” LII is a searchable, browsable collection of over 16,000 high quality Web sites. If you are looking for a scholarly resource on a topic, LII is a great place to start. Just don’t expect to find everything here. Also, highly specific searches will be less successful then browsing my topic

Google Scholar
Contains peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Provides unique features, such as relevance ranking of your results, the ability to find "Related Articles", and the opportunity to see other papers that have cited a specific paper. A couple of drawbacks include limited searching capabilities (full text or title), and no consistent links directly to the article.

 

Borrowing Materials from Other Libraries

Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain materials not owned by the Olson Library.  Materials such as books and periodical articles, among other sources, can be borrowed from other libraries.  The average time to receive requested materials is 1-2 weeks and you will be notified by email when your items arrive.  Consult the link above to submit a request and for further details.

 

MLA Style

MLA Style Guide Shows examples of how to cite common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 

Need Further Assistance?

You can contact SaraJane Tompkins by email or by phone at 227-2431.

Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours