Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 370: American Lit I
Professor Sandra Burr

Library Resource Guide


Click on the Catalog tab above to search the library catalog for books, titles of periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns. 


Literary Criticism Sources

Library Catalog
When looking for literary criticism or biographical information in the library catalog, select the Library of Congress Subject Heading button and enter the author's name, last name first (ex. Stein, Gertrude).  Pay particular attention to the subheading Criticism and Interpretation (Stein, Gertrude - Criticism and Interpretation).

Literature Resource Center
Provides access to three recognized author collections from Gale Publishers--Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography--along with over 300 journals, a variety of other important reference works, and selected Web sites. When searching for your particular work, change the drop-down menu on the search screen to "All Text (tx)" for best results.

MLA International Bibliography (1926-present)
The premier index to scholarly publications of all kinds (books, articles, theses, etc.) in the field of literature. Use the button to determine if the library owns a particular book or journal article.

Google Scholar
Google's index to the scholarly literature. Covers all subjects and disciplines. Look for the "Full-Text @ NMU" link to obtain an electronic copy of the article or the "Locate a print copy @ NMU" to see if the library has the item in our print collection.


Microform Collections of Primary Sources

Early American Imprints, Series I and II
Based on two major bibliographies of books published in American from 1639-1819, this microbook collection is located on the second floor near the microfilm cabinets. Each item can be found in the Olson Library Catalog, but make sure that you write down the item number in order to locate it.

Early English Books
Based on two major bibliographies of early printed books in English from 1475-1700, this microfilm collection is stored in the microfilm cabinets on the second floor. Items from the second part of the collection (1641-1700) can be found in the Olson Library Catalog, but you can do full-text searching of the entire collection at http://quod.lib.umich.edu/e/eebogroup/. Write down the title and author, then use the appropriate volume of the Short Title Catalogue and the cross-index to locate the correct reel.


Additional Sources for Historical Context

Britannica Online
The electronic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica.

America: History & Life (EBSCO)
Journal articles, books, and other resources covering history and culture, area studies, and current affairs of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. 1964 - present.

Electronic Reference Sources: English
Links to electronic encyclopedias and collections of digital resources pertaining to literature study.

Electronic Reference Sources:History
Links to electronic encyclopedias and collections of digitized resources that may prove helpful.


Web Resources

Michigan Quilt Project
A collection of quilt images from all periods of American history.

 


Borrowing Materials From Other Libraries

If our library doesn't have the books you need, you should then search MeLCat, the Michigan electronic Library Catalog. You can request items from over 400 public and academic libraries in the state of Michigan. You will usually receive items requested through MeLCat in about a week.

Worldwide, use WorldCat  (Note: To retrieve & view online theses & dissertations, enter key words, click on "Internet Resources" & change "Any Content" drop box to "Thesis/dissertation." Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain materials not owned by Olson Library.


MLA Style

MLA Style Guide
Reference Collection: LB2369 .G53 2009.
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.  Consult the Handbook in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.


Need Further Assistance?

Contact Mollie Freier (or phone 227-1061). You may also stop by the Public Services Desk for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2250.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours