Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 510: The Teaching of Composition

Professor Kia Jane Richmond

Catalogs--for locating books and collections of essays

The Olson Library Catalog will give you access to books about your topic, and those books include collections of essays. You can search the catalog by keyword, but some useful Library of Congress Subject Headings for information on the teaching of composition include:

English language--Rhetoric--Study and teaching
Report writing--Study and teaching
Academic writing
College teachers
Feminism and education

WorldCat, as the name implies, shows holdings from libraries worldwide. It, too, can be searched by keyword or Library of Congress Subject Heading. You can use InterLibrary Loan to get materials that Olson Library does not own.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) — Acquiring materials not held by Olson Library. If you see the record for a book you'd like to use in WorldCat, you can request it through InterLibrary Loan. If you ahve never used this service before, you must register with the system, using your NMU student ID/LDES barcode. If you like, you may register now.

Please allow at least 3 weeks to receive books and other materials.


Online databases--for articles, book reviews, and other resources

Although tables of contents and abstracts of some core journals in the field of teaching composition are available at the National Council of Teachers of English web site, these journals are not indexed at the site, so you cannot search all issues at once. You might find it easier to find what you want by using an online database from the Olson Library to find articles on your topic.

When you find a promising-looking citation to an article in a library-provided database, the full text of the article may be available in another database. Click the button (or, in some cases, a link that says Find It) to see if we have access to the article, either online or in print.

You can also submit ILL requests for articles that we don't have access to by clicking on the Request form link located in popup box. You cannot use ILL to request items that we own in print or have access to electronically. Allow a minimum of 10 days to receive articles through ILL.

Because this subject is essentially interdisciplinary, the databases below include resources in education, psychology, sociology, and language and literature. You might also consider searching Academic OneFile, a general database that indexes scholarly journals, newspapers, and magazines..

ERIC  — Contains records for scholarly & trade journal articles, and ERIC Documents (ED's) (reports/documents, lesson plans, theses, dissertations, and conference papers).

JSTOR — Historical coverage before rolling 2-5 years. The subject areas that will be best to search for this class are Education and Language and Literature.

MLA International Bibliography -- Many journal articles on writing and pedagogy will come up in this database. Unfortunately, there are no abstracts.

PsycInfo — Indexes scholarly/professional journals, books, book chapters, reports/documents, theses & dissertations, and conference papers oon psychology and psychiatry. Many current records include cited references (searchable). Covers material published 1887-present.

PsycARTICLES — ONLINE PDF scholarly articles from 52 Psychology journals published 1987-present.

SocAbs (Sociological Abstracts) — Indexes scholarly/professional journals, books, book chapters, reports/documents, theses & dissertations, conference papers, and web sites. Many current records include cited references (searchable). Covers material published 1952-present.


Reference assistance

Olson Library "Ask A Librarian" reference assistance including interactive chat (227-2294) or (info@nmu.edu). If you are having difficulty finding resources on your topic, please contact us. You may also e-mail Mollie Freier, library liaison to the English Department at mfreier@nmu.edu.


Citation information

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common types of sources, including web sites and online journal articles, according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th ed.  Consult the Manual in the Reference Collection (BF 76.7 P83) for further information or types of sources not listed here.

MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to MLA style.

 



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours