Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


Thesis research in-service

Library Resource Guide


Click on the Catalog tab above to search the library catalog for books, titles of periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns. 

To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map. Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers. Additional resources for books: the MelCat catalog and the WorldCat catalog.

The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines, journals, or newspapers, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.).  Instead, use the OneSearch tab above to search for articles.


Literary Criticism Sources

Literature Resource Center
Provides access to three recognized author collections from Gale Publishers--Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography--along with over 300 journals, a variety of other important reference works, and selected Web sites. When searching for your particular work, change the drop-down menu on the search screen to "All Text (tx)" for best results.

Library Catalog
When looking for literary criticism or biographical information in the library catalog, select the Library of Congress Subject Heading button and enter the author's name, last name first (ex. Stein, Gertrude).  Pay particular attention to the subheading Criticism and Interpretation (Stein, Gertrude - Criticism and Interpretation).

MLA International Bibliography (1926-present)
The premier index to scholarly publications of all kinds (books, articles, theses, etc.) in the field of literature. Use the button to determine if the library owns a particular book or journal article.

Google Scholar
Google's index to the scholarly literature. Covers all subjects and disciplines. Look for the "Full-Text @ NMU" link to obtain an electronic copy of the article or the "Locate a print copy @ NMU" to see if the library has the item in our print collection.

Electronic Reference Sources: English
Links to electronic encyclopedias and collections of digital resources pertaining to literature study.

Access World News
Access World News provides information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all the content or on particular states, countries, or continents. Indexing is cover-to-cover and coverage extends for some titles back to the mid 1970s.


Additional Sources for Historical Context

Electronic Reference Sources:History
Links to electronic encyclopedias and collections of digitized resources that may prove helpful.

Britannica Online
The electronic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica.


Full-Text Archives

Internet Archive: Digital Library of Free Books, Movies, Music and the Wayback Machine
The title sums it up. Full-content of items in the public domain. Books are available in a number of digital formats, including Kindle.

HathiTrust Digital Library
The repository for books owned by libraries and scanned by Google. Full-text is available for books in the public domain.


Borrowing Materials From Other Libraries

If our library doesn't have the books you need, you should then search MeLCat, the Michigan electronic Library Catalog. You can request items from over 250 public and academic libraries in the state of Michigan. You will usually receive items requested through MeLCat in about a week.

Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain materials not owned by Olson Library.  Materials such as books and periodical articles, among other sources, can be borrowed from other libraries.  The average time to receive requested materials is 1-2 weeks and you will be notified by email when your items arrive.  Consult the above link to submit a request and for further details.


MLA Style

MLA Style Guide
Reference Collection: LB2369 .G53 2009.
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.  Consult the Handbook in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.

Zotero
Zotero is a free extension to Mozilla Firefox. It stores citation information, and, with the use of Microsoft Word, will allow you to create citations as you write your paper and then create your works cited page at the end. You can download the extension at http://www.zotero.org/. The Olson Library provides a guide for the use of Zotero as well.


Need Further Assistance?

Contact Mollie Freier (or phone 227-1061). You may also stop by the Public Services Desk for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2250.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours