Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


Library Resource Guide
for ES 500: Introduction to Research

For help with any of these resources, contact Kevin McDonough through the IM window on the right, email (kmcdonou@nmu.edu), or phone (906-227-2118).

Books and E-references

Library Catalog
Contains the books, government documents, and audio-visual materials in Olson Library and three other libraries in the U.P. Books are a great place to get an overview on a subject and help narrow your topic to an answerable question. Also, many books provide links into the journal literature through the inclusion of one or more reference lists.

Databases for Periodical Literature

PubMed
The premier database for research in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Contains citations from more than 4,800 biomedical journals published, dating back to the mid-1960's.

SPORT Discus — Provides access to the literature relating to sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, recreation, facilities and equipment, and more. Over 2000 titles, ranging from 1975 to the present.

Google Scholar
Contains peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Provides unique features, such as relevance ranking of your results, the ability to find "Related Articles", and the opportunity to see other papers that have cited a specific paper. A couple of drawbacks include limited searching capabilities (full text or title), and no consistent links directly to the article.

Style Guides

APA Style

JAT (J. Athletic Training)

Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise (MSSE)



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours