Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


GN 100: Introduction to Gender Studies
Library Resource Guide


Click on the Catalog tab above to search the library catalog for books, titles of periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns. 

To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map. Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers.

The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines, journals, or newspapers, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.).  Instead, use the OneSearch tab above to search for articles.


Indexes and Bibliographies

Feminist Periodicals

This listing of table of contents from over 150 feminist magazines and journals is compiled quarterly by the Office of the Gender and Womnen's Studies Librarian at the University of Wisconsin at Madison. You cannot search it, but skimming can be helpful.

JSTOR

Complete, searchable, full text articles, including those from 42 titles in the category Feminist and Women's Studies. 1878 to the most recent 1-5 years (varies by title).

Project MUSE

An interdisciplinary collection of over 300 high quality, peer reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences, including four journals in the category Women's Studies, Gender, and Sexuality.

America: History & Life (EBSCO)

Journal articles, books, and other resources covering history and culture, area studies, and current affairs of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. 1964 - present.

Sociological Abstracts

Journal articles, books, and other resources on all aspects of sociology and related disciplines. Subjects include demography, environmental interactions, family and social welfare, social psychology, human biology, women's studies, health, medicine, law, etc. 1952 to present; abstracts since 1974.

Ad*Access

A collection from Duke University of advertisements containing images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.


Materials from Other Libraries

Additional resources for books: the MelCat catalog and the WorldCat catalog. Please allow time for items to be delivered to our library.


Citation Resources


APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common types of sources, including web sites and online journal articles, according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association , 5th ed.  Consult the Manual in the Reference Collection (BF 76.7 P83) for further information or types of sources not listed here.

MLA Formatting and Style Guide

From Purdue's Online Writing Lab, a guide to the new, eighth edition of the MLA Style.

Zotero

Zotero is a free extension to Mozilla Firefox. It stores citation information, and, with the use of Microsoft Word, will allow you to create citations as you write your paper and then create your works cited page at the end. You can download the extension at http://www.zotero.org/. The Olson Library provides a guide for the use of Zotero as well.

Further assistance

If you need more assistance, please contact Mollie Freier: mfreier@nmu.edu or 227-1061.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours