Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


GR310: German Culture and Civilization

Professor Carol Strauss

Library Resource Guide

The purpose of this Library Guide is to provide you with a list of materials that you can use as tools to gain a better understanding of the subject you are studying and the materials you are reading for this class. These resources can also be used to give you more information so that your papers are well-informed.

Olson Library Homepage: This is the page that you can use to navigate to any of the resources Olson Library provides for you, including e-books, full-text articles and on-line reference works.

Type of material=books

Library Catalog
Search the NMU Olson Library catalog by Author/Title/Subject or Keyword to find records for books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials in a variety of formats (including online) held by NMU, LSSU, Finlandia University, and GCC libraries. You can not use this to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns. Use one of the databases under "journal articles" for locating articles.

eBooks
This site can link you to electronic books either held within our collection or found in the public domain, i.e. freely accessible.

If our library doesn't have the books you need, you should then search MelCat (the Michigan Electronic Library Catalog). You can request items from over 250 libraries in the state of Michigan. You will usually receive items requested through MelCat in about a week. Hint: this can not be used for journal articles at this time.

 

Electronic Reference Materials

Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions
This dictionary, though concise, provides information on all major religions, as well sects, cults and movements. Provides information on sacred sites, important religious figures and events.

Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A complete encyclopedia of philosophical terms, ideas and figures.

Countries and Their Cultures
Presents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison. Provides illustrations, photographs and maps.

A Dictionary of Contemporary World History
Provides concise entries on the events of history from 1900 to the present.

Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Provided by the University of Virginia Library, this e-text version of the classic reference work provides concise, but complete, information on the many permutations of "idea" in Western and non-Western intellectual traditions. Arranged alphabetically and by subject area with a search function.

Dictionary of the Social Sciences
Collecting anthropology, sociology, political science, economics, human geography, cultural studies, and Marxism in one volume, the Dictionary presents concise, clearly written definitions of more than 1,500 important terms. Entries are true definitions, not extended essays or summaries. They draw on classic and contemporary scholarship, and include basic terms, concepts, theories, schools of thought, methodologies, techniques, topics, issues, and controversies.

Digital Resources for the Study of Religion
Provides access to a wide array of primary and secondary materials from various institutions. Allows for searching or browsing of collections.

Encyclopedia of Human Rights
Encyclopedia of Human Rights offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history. The coverage includes major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.

EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
This directory provides links to primary resources in European history, divided by country. Provides links to primary source material from prehistoric and ancient Europe and Renaissance Europe.

German/English
Concise Oxford-Duden German Dictionary

Print Reference Resources

Reference books are shelved on the first floor of Olson Library.

Fodor’s Europe, Ref D909.F63 2003: Travel guides can be a great resource for information on cultural events and historical buildings, as well as information on dining, the arts and other areas of interest.

Dictionary of European History & Politics Since 1945, Ref D1051.U78 1996: This is a straightforward dictionary of various terms, names, events, etc that have occurred in Europe since 1945.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture, Ref DD290.26.E53 1999: This encyclopedia contains “more than a thousand entries,” consisting of German artistic and intellectual movements; German artists, writers, athletes, politicians, etc., as well as entries for political movements, religion, language, media and education.

Medieval Germany: An Encyclopedia, Ref DD126.M43 2001: This resource provides brief, but comprehensive information (including bibliographies), on “the society and culture of German- and Dutch-speaking Europe from approximately C.E. 500 to 1500.” Includes maps. Provides a list of entries by categories, such as “law,” “daily life,” and “art and architecture,” for example.

Other Library Resources

Holocaust Collection: Olson Library has an extensive collection of materials related to the Holocaust. This guide provides a comprehensive list of all of the books currently held by Olson Library. The list can be sorted alphabetically by author's name or title. It can also be sorted by publication date.

ArtStor: ArtStor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.

JSTOR: Provides full-text access to scholarly articles in multiple areas, from the 19th century onward. A great resource for any research project that you have to do.

MLA Bibliography: Database that allows you to search for “journals, books, and other resources in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Also includes materials on film studies. 1926 to present.” *Keyword searching, full-text availability *Allows for browsing by literary theme, time period, genre, etc.

Other Materials

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum: A great resource for primary materials from the Holocaust, as well as more recent research and writings.

Dictionary of the History of Ideas: Provided by the University of Virginia Library, this e-text version of the classic reference work provides concise, but complete, information on the many permutations of "idea" in Western and non-Western intellectual traditions. Arranged alphabetically and by subject area with a search function.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: This encyclopedia provides comprehensive entries on philosophers, philosophical ideas, movements and concepts. Has browse and search functions.

Obtaining Materials From Other Libraries

Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain materials not owned by the Olson Library.  Materials such as books and periodical articles can be borrowed from other libraries.  The average time to receive requested materials is 7-10 days and you will be notified by email when your items arrive.  Consult the above link for further details and to submit a request.

Citing Sources

Style guides:

APA Style Guide, MLA Style Guide, Chicago Style Guide

Zotero
Zotero is a free plug-in for the Firefox web browser. Zotero will import citations from your searches and, with the use of the Word plug-in, automatically insert citations and create bibliographies. You can also manually enter citations into Zotero. For instructions on downloading Zotero along with links to various how-to videos see the Zotero Guide.

 



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours