HL 322: International Health Issues
Library Resource Guide
Human Development Reports
Provides rankings and some basic statistics on human development. Click on the Reports link to search for the complete report of a particular country.
World Health Organization, Core Health Indicators
See also other data listed under the Country tab.
U.S. Census Bureau, International Data Base
Contains both national and international statistics. Select a country and a year or range of years.
Olson Library Catalog
Since the library catalog only searches for words found in the title/subject/notes fields, the search terms you use are extremely important. Use some of the following search terms:
Medical Care AND [name of country or continent];
Public Health AND [name of country or continent];
Health Services AND Developing Countries;
social conditions AND [name of country].
A statewide catalog of more than 350 Michigan libraries. The same terms used in the library catalog will work in MelCat. Click the "Get this for me" link to request that items be sent to Olson Library for checkout. Average delivery time is 7-10 days and you will receive an email when the item arrives. The loan period for books is 3 weeks with the option to renew for an additional 3 weeks.
Google has scanned millions of books from libraries across the country. Google provides snippets or limited preview for many of these books. To locate a copy of the book, click on the "Find in a Library" link and enter your zip code under Find a Copy in the Library.
Google Scholar indexes peer-reviewed articles and other scholarly literature from a variety of publishers.
Search results are linked to the holdings in Olson Library. If the journal is available electronically, it will have the Full Text@NMU label next to it. If this label does not appear, click on the Locate a Print Copy@NMU link to see if it is available in print or to request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Search for news, videos, blogs and google through one interface.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Provides information on social issues and includes a variety of sources such as audio, video, images and statistics.
Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain materials not owned by the Olson Library. Periodical articles can be obtained from other libraries at no cost to students. The average time to receive requested materials is 7-10 days and you will be notified by email when your items arrive. Consult the above link for further details and to submit a request.
APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the most common sources, including online articles, according to the most recent edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Consult the Manual in the library reference collection for sources not listed in this guide.
Reference Collection: BF 76.7 P83.
Popular vs. Scholarly Articles
A brief guide to the key differences between popular and scholarly sources.
Evaluating Internet Resources
A framework for identifying quality web sites.
If you need help with any of these resources ask for assistance at the Library's Reference Desk (227-2294 or live chat) or contact Mike Burgmeier (227-2187), Reference Librarian.