Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


HL 367: Planning and Evaluation in Health & Fitness
Professor Breanne Carlson
Professor Mary Jane Tremethick

Library Resource Guide

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature including peer-reviewed papers, technical reports, and books. Look for the "Full-Text @ NMU" link to obtain an electronic copy of the article or the "Locate a print copy @ NMU" to see if the library has the item in our print collection. Google Scholar is also a great tool for finding other articles related to one's you already have. Search for the title of an article you have and click the "Cited by" link in the results list to see other articles related to this one.

USA.gov
The official government search portal.


Obtaining Materials From Other Libraries

Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain materials not owned by the Olson Library.  Materials such as books and periodical articles can be borrowed from other libraries.  The average time to receive requested materials is 7-10 days and you will be notified by email when your items arrive.  Consult the above link for further details and to submit a request.


Citing Sources

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.  Consult the Manual in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.
Reference Collection: BF 76.7 P83.

APA Captioning Tables & Figures
Examples of how to cite tables, illustrations, and other figures according to the APA style format.

Zotero
Zotero is a free plug-in for the Firefox web browser. Zotero will import citations from your searches and, with the use of the Word plug-in, automatically insert citations and create bibliographies. You can also manually enter citations into Zotero. For instructions on downloading Zotero along with links to various how-to videos see the Zotero Guide.


Secondary Sources

Library Catalog (Books)
Books synthesize and distill large bodies of knowledge on a given topic. They are a great starting point for getting a layout of the field, identifying key concepts, and obtaining references to additional resources.Books often give theoretical definitions of key variables.  It is best to search for broad aspects of your topic when looking for books in the library catalog (e.g. women and self esteem).

Review Articles
Review articles are a special kind of article that looks at the recent research in a given field and then summarizes that knowledge and places it in the context of what is already known about the topic. Search OneSearch above to locate review articles. Search for "systematic review" or "literature review" or "meta-analysis" AND your variable (e.g. "systematic review" AND obesity AND children).


Identifying and Obtaining Tests

Three primary ways of identifying testing instruments:

1. From Your Literature Review
The professional literature will indicate the methodology used in a particular research study. They will indicate what they used to measure and evaluate the variables of their study. Some articles will include a copy or sample of the testing instrument used in the study, usually found in the appendix.

2. Search OneSearch
Search OneSearch and limit your results to journal articles to locate information about testing instruments. Search for phrases such as "test validity," "test reliability," "validation studies," or "reproducibility of results" along with your dependent variable (eg. obesity AND "test reliability").

3. Search One of the Following Databases
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY)
MMY provides access to the full text of reviews of over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Reviews include descriptive information about a test, one or two professional reviews, and a list of references to relevant literature. To be reviewed in the MMY a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new, revised, or widely used.

The ETS Test Collection
The Educational Testing Service (ETS) Test Collection contains descriptions of over 20,000 tests and research instruments. There is a short description of each testing instrument along with availability information. Some of the testing instruments are freely available or may be found in various journal articles (note the Availability field in order to determine if the instrument is freely available).

Determining Test Reliability and Validity

Once you have identified a testing instrument, you can determine its reliability and validity by searching the various journal article databases above. Search for the name of the test (eg. "Questionnaire of Eating and Weight Patterns").

Alternatively, you can search the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY). The reviews found in MMY will include information concerning reliability and validity.


Sources for Identifying Organizations

idealist
Provides a searchable directory of over 40,000 nonprofit Web sites in 153 countries.  Search the Organizations section by keyword (e.g. obesity) and/or area of focus (e.g. Youth, etc.).


Sources for Identifying Granting Agencies

National Institutes of Health

Non-National Institutes of Health Funding Opportunities

Google Search: health sciences grants


Further Assistance

If you need help with any of these resources you can ask for assistance at the Library's Reference Desk (227-2294 or live chat) or contact librarian Mike Burgmeier (online chat, email, phone:227-2187).



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours