Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


HL 430 Grant Writing for Health Educators
Professor Breanne Carlson

Library Resource Guide

Search OneSearch above to find scholarly articles to show the need for the program/activity you are trying to implement (seeking grant money). Articles may also give some statistics in support of the need for such a program. While these statistics may be dated, they should cite the sources of their statistics which you can follow up for more recent data.

Google Scholar
Another source for finding scholarly literature including peer-reviewed articles, technical reports, and books. Look for the "Full-Text @ NMU" link to get a copy of the items.


Statistics

State and Local Sources

Michigan.gov Census and Statistical Data
A compilation of statistical sources and links (population data, social and economic data, and geographic information) for Michigan and the United States.

Marquette County Health Department
Compiled from local and national data, the Marquette County Health Department provides health statistics on a variety of topics, including abortions; teen use of alcohol, tobacco & other drugs; cigarette smoking; percentage of overweight individuals; teen pregnancy; morbidity and mortality; childhood immunizations; and much more.

State Health Facts Online--Michigan
From the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation. Categorized pull-down menu allows you to select many Michigan statistics which are compared against the national average. You can jump to all other states as well.

Michigan Department of Community Health
From the website: ”The Department of Community Health is responsible for the collection of information on a range of health related issues. The information is collected to monitor the general health and well-being of Michigan 's citizens. These data are useful for health program development, targeting and evaluation of program progress. The information is used to identify emerging health issues and trends and can be made available for epidemiological research. Statistics are developed from the data collected to provide basic information on these health events in Michigan.”

Michigan League for Public Policy
The Michigan League for Public Policy is a nonpartisan policy institute dedicated to economic opportunity for all. It is the only state-level organization that addresses poverty in a comprehensive way. The Resources section contains a variety of fact sheets and other statistical data.

Pure Michigan: Sources of Demographic & Economic Data
Relevant to the Michigan economy, available here you can find: Reports, Brochures, Fact Sheets, Directories, Economic Indicators, Economic Forecasts, Maps of Selected Economic Characteristics, and Sources of Demographic & Economic Data.

Health

National Center for Health Statistics from the Center for Disease Control
Our nation's principal health statistics agency.  Reports and data available on a variety of health related issues.

HealthData.gov
Search in Administration for Children and Families, Administration for Community Living, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Department of Health & Human Service, Health Resources and Services Administration, National Cancer Institute, National Institute on Drug Abuse, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Kids Count
KIDS COUNT, a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, is a national and state-by-state effort to track the status of children in the U.S. measure the educational, social, economic, and physical well-being of children state by state. Data is available for individual states as well as counties and city within each state. See the Michigan Indicators for details.

Health, United States
Health, United States presents national trends in health statistics on such topics as birth and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, morbidity and health status, risk factors, use of ambulatory care and inpatient care, health personnel and facilities, financing of health care, health insurance and managed care,and other health topics.

Additional Statistical Resources

Olson Library Statistics
A listing of statistical sources in a variety of subject areas (education, demographic, etc.).


Funding Sources

Grants.gov
The most extensive listing of grants available from federal agencies. Fully searchable with links to additional information on details for applying for the various grants.

Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce is a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet. The Grants and Funding page links to numerous funding opportunities related to this mission.

The Foundation Center at the Peter White Public Library. The Library provides visitors with free access to the Foundation Center's electronic databases (The Foundation Directory Online Professional and The Foundation Grants to Individuals Online). A great funding resource these fully searchable databases include detailed profiles of all active U.S. foundations. This resource is worth the trip to the Peter White Public Library.


Citing Sources

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.  Consult the Manual in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site. Reference Collection: BF 76.7 P83. If citing something on the web, see this chart if one of the key pieces of information is missing.

APA Captioning Tables & Figures
Examples of how to cite tables, illustrations, and other figures according to the APA style format.

Zotero
Zotero is a free plug-in for the Firefox web browser. Zotero will import citations from your searches and, with the use of the Word plug-in, automatically insert citations and create bibliographies. You can also manually enter citations into Zotero. For instructions on downloading Zotero along with links to various how-to videos see the Zotero Guide.


Further Assistance

If you need help with any of these resources you can ask for assistance at the Library's Reference Desk (227-2294 or live chat) or contact Mike Burgmeier, Reference Librarian (227-2187 or live chat).



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours