Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


HL 440: Critical Issues in Health Education
Professor Patti Hogan

Library Resource Guide

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature including peer-reviewed papers, technical reports, and books. Look for the "Full-Text @ NMU" link to obtain an electronic copy of the article or the "Locate a print copy @ NMU" to see if the library has the item in our print collection. Google Scholar is also a great tool for finding other articles related to one's you already have. Search for the title of an article you have and click the "Cited by" link in the results list to see other articles related to this one.

USA.gov
The official government search portal. Many government agencies produce infographics and other media sources.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Provides information on social issues and includes a variety of sources such as audio, video, images and statistics.

CQ Researcher
In-depth, non-biased reports on political and social issues, with regular coverage of topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

ProCon.org
Provides professionally-researched pro, con, and related information on more than 50 controversial issues.

Debatebase: A World of Great Debates
A collection of over 700 debates mostly written by experienced debaters. Each debate gives an outline of the background as well as key points in favor of and against it. There are also references for further reading.

Greenshot
Greenshot is a light-weight screenshot software tool for Windows. Save to a file, send to a printer, copy to clipboard, attach to e-mail, send to Office programs or upload to photo sites like Flickr and others.

A Quick Guide: How to Find and Use Infographics
Provides links to some sites that collect infographics as well as search tips for searching.

Content Discovery Tools
Robin Good's extensive collection of discovery tools.


Obtaining Materials From Other Libraries

Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain materials not owned by the Olson Library.  Materials such as books and periodical articles can be borrowed from other libraries.  The average time to receive requested materials is 7-10 days and you will be notified by email when your items arrive.  Consult the above link for further details and to submit a request.


Citing Sources

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.  Consult the Manual in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.
Reference Collection: BF 76.7 P83.

APA Captioning Tables & Figures
Examples of how to cite tables, illustrations, and other figures according to the APA style format.

Zotero
Zotero is a free plug-in for the Firefox web browser. Zotero will import citations from your searches and, with the use of the Word plug-in, automatically insert citations and create bibliographies. You can also manually enter citations into Zotero. For instructions on downloading Zotero along with links to various how-to videos see the Zotero Guide.


Further Assistance

If you need help with any of these resources you can ask for assistance at the Library's Reference Desk (227-2294 or live chat) or contact librarian Mike Burgmeier (online chat, email, phone:227-2187).



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours