Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


HS 252: Arab-Islamic History
Dr. Kendall

Finding books:

Search the NMU Olson Library catalog by Journal Title/Author/Title/Subject or Keyword to find records for books, journal titles, government documents, etc., in a variety of formats (including online) held by NMU, LSSU, Finlandia U., and GCC libraries. Cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns.  Use one of the databases listed below for locating articles. Hint: When searching for subjects, use "Guided Search" and set limit to NMU Olson Library.

If our library doesn't have the books you need, you should then search MeLCat, the Michigan electronic Library Catalog. You can request items from over 250 public and academic libraries in the state of Michigan. You will usually receive items requested through MeLCat in about a week.

Worldwide, use WorldCat  (Note: To retrieve & view online theses & dissertations, enter key words, click on "Internet Resources" & change "Any Content" drop box to "Thesis/dissertation".

If you find an item you want in WorldCat that isn't held by the Olson Library or MeLCat, you may request it by using InterLibrary Loan: Before submitting your first ILL request, you must register with the system (one time). When using ILL, you should allow minimum of 10 days to receive materials; request default is 30 days. General Information about ILL

Reference resources

Britannica Online -- The Encyclopaedia Britannica.

The Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Paul Edwards, editor in chief. New York, Macmillan [1967]. 8 volumes and one supplement.
NMU Reference Encyclopedia Cases (LRC 2nd floor)
B41 .E5.

Hammond Atlas of the World. 2nd ed. Maplewood, N.J.: Hammond Incorporated, 1998. NMU Reference G 1021 .H2665 1998a.

Korbani, Agnes G. The Political Dictionary of Modern Middle East. Lanham, Md.: University Press of America, 1995. NMU Reference DS 43 .K67 1995.

A Dictionary of Contemporary World History
Provides concise entries on the events of history from 1900 to the present.

Dictionary of World History
Provides concise information on all aspects of world history, including entries on current political figures and current events.

History on the Web
From the University of Washington library, this guide provides resources for U.S history, European History and World history, as well as subject areas, such as World War II, History of Science and Medicine and Ancient / Medieval history.

Oxford Reference Online Premium: History
Some of the resources listed on this web page are included in this aggregation of resources, but you can also search all of the historical reference books simultaneously from this page.

Primary resources

Internet Islamic History Sourcebook
A collection of primary texts on several aspects of the subject.

New York Public Library Digital Collection Guide
This is a guide to the digital collections made available by the New York Public Library. Collections range from covers of sheet music, maps, vernacular photos of Brooklyn to natural history surveys and illuminated manuscripts from Europe.

Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection: Middle East Maps and Africa Maps. A wide range of digitized maps of the regions--topographical, political, and historical.

Smithsonian Collections
A vast digital collection of images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian


 

Scholarly & Popular Literature Databases

Source  
BR = includes book reviews

Description/Notes
Dates Covered

Literature Resource Center

All Gale biography-related resources including Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, etc. All years
ACLS Humanities E-Book Project BR Collection of high-quality full-text books in all areas of history. These scholarly works are of major importance to historical studies which are frequently cited in the literature. 1900 - present; 1,200+ works in full-image & full-text
AH Search [Arts & Humanities Search] BR

Indexes all areas of History, especially Ancient History; primarily used as a citator database. Indexes 160+ History titles.

As an index, articles published 1980 - present; cites works from any time
ECO [Electronic Collections Online]   BR 120+ History titles indexed, 9 subscriptions full-image articles published
1995 - present
Academic OneFile  BR 5,000+ total periodicals FT/FI 
Note: capitalize AND, OR
articles published
1980 - present
JSTOR   BR 39+ History titles, 14 Anthropology, & 11 Archaeology titles (all full-image) articles published
19th century - present
Google Scholar [in beta] Indexes publisher & scholarly web sites & journals. Includes a citator feature & has links to library full-text holdings. recent articles
MLA [literature]  BR Periodical articles, books & book chapters

works published
1963 - present

Information about Citing Sources

Chicago Style (based upon 15th ed., 2003) includes examples of how to cite materials in both paper and online formats.

Other library information:

Olson Library "Ask A Librarian" reference assistance including interactive chat (227-2294) (info@nmu.edu)

Library Map



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours