HS 256: Approaching China
Search the NMU Olson Library catalog by Journal Title/Author/Title/Subject or Keyword to find records for books, journal titles, government documents, etc., in a variety of formats (including online) held by NMU, LSSU, Finlandia U., and GCC libraries. Cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns. Use one of the databases listed below for locating articles. Hint: When searching for subjects, use "Guided Search" and set limit to NMU Olson Library.
If our library doesn't have the books you need, you should then search MeLCat, the Michigan electronic Library Catalog. You can request items from over 250 public and academic libraries in the state of Michigan. You will usually receive items requested through MeLCat in about a week.
Worldwide, use WorldCat (Note: To retrieve & view online theses & dissertations, enter key words, click on "Internet Resources" & change "Any Content" drop box to "Thesis/dissertation".
If you find an item you want in WorldCat that isn't held by the Olson Library or MeLCat, you may request it by using InterLibrary Loan: Before submitting your first ILL request, you must register with the system (one time). Register Now.
When using ILL, you should allow minimum of 10 days to receive materials; request default is 30 days.
Oxford Reference Online — Online full-text (some with illustrations) reference books. Includes Oxford Companion series and 22 History-related titles.
Britannica Online -- The Encyclopaedia Britannica.
China: A Historical and Cultural Dictionary edited by Michael Dillon. Richmond, Surrey : Curzon, 1998.
Ref DS 733 .C58523 1998
Blunden, Caroline, and Mark Elvin. Cultural Atlas of China.
New York : Checkmark Books, c1998.
Ref DS 721 .B56 1998.
Asia for Educators -- Subtitled "An initiative of the East Asian Curriculum Project and the Project on Asia in the Core Curriculum" this web site, hosted by Columbia University, gives a wealth of background information.
The Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Paul Edwards, editor in chief.
New York, Macmillan . 8 volumes and one supplement.
NMU Reference Encyclopedia Cases (LRC 2nd floor)
Scholarly & Popular Literature Databases
BR = includes book reviews
Literature Resource Center
Gale biography-related resources including Contemporary Authors,
Dictionary of Literary Biography, etc.
| ACLS Humanities E-Book Project BR
|| Collection of high-quality full-text books in all areas of history. These scholarly works are of major importance to historical studies which are frequently cited in the literature.
||1900 - present; 1,200+ works in full-image & full-text
|AH Search [Arts & Humanities Search] BR
all areas of History, especially Ancient History; primarily used as a citator database.
Indexes 160+ History titles.
|As an index, articles
published 1980 - present; cites works from any time
|ECO [Electronic Collections Online] BR
History titles indexed, 9 subscriptions full-image
1995 - present
|Academic OneFile BR
||5,000+ total periodicals
Note: capitalize AND, OR
1980 - present
History titles, 14 Anthropology, & 11 Archaeology titles (all full-image)
19th century - present
|Google Scholar [in beta]
|| Indexes publisher & scholarly web sites & journals. Includes a citator feature & has links to library full-text holdings.
|MLA [literature] BR
articles, books & book chapters
1963 - present
Information about Citing Sources
Chicago Style (based upon 15th ed., 2003) includes examples of how to cite materials in both paper and online formats.
Other library information:
Olson Library "Ask A Librarian" reference assistance including interactive chat (227-2294) (firstname.lastname@example.org)