Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


HS 295 Immigration History
Dr. Paul Lubotina

History Information Resources
Instruction Session taught by Prof. Mike Strahan, Olson Library (227-2463)


Olson Library "Ask A Librarian" reference assistance including interactive chat (227-2294) (info@nmu.edu)

Chicago Style
(based upon 15th ed., 2003) includes examples of how to cite materials in both paper and online formats.

Library Map

Suggested search strategy which you combine on next line with your specific topic(s): immigra* or emigra* or migra*

Locating books, government documents, periodical records, manuscript collections, & online resources

For Library Catalog, use "Guided Search" and set limit to NMU Olson Library
To locate primary resources, use the following in search & change to "any of these":
diaries narratives letters speeches interviews autobiograph? correspondence papers

Worldwide, use WorldCat  (Note: To retrieve & view online resources including web sites, enter keywords and click on "Internet Resources").



Biographical, Census, & Genealogical Reference Resources

Source  
Full-Text = full-text/full-image
BR = includes book reviews

Description/Notes
Dates Covered
Gale Literary Index All Gale biography-related resources including Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, etc. All years
Biography & Genealogy Master Index Indexes 1,000's of biographical books, directories, Who's Who, etc. works published
1900 - present
Biography Reference Bank Periodical articles, books & book chapters. works published
1984 - present
U.S. Census (historical data) Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts. 1790-present
Heritage Quest Online Includes searchable full-image of U.S. Census Population Schedules (name, address, nationality, etc.).
Many online resources.
Census 1790-1930; other works published
1500 - present
Cyndi's List of Genealogical Sites on the Internet Exhaustive collection of worldwide genealogical resources links. Varies
Family Search Massive, searchable site of genealogical records worldwide. Maintained by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Varies

Scholarly & Popular Literature Databases

AH Search [Arts & Humanities Search] BR

Indexes Ancient History; major focus as a citator database.
Indexes 160+ History titles.

articles published
1980 - present
ECO [Electronic Collections Online]   Full-Text  BR 120+ History titles indexed, 9 subscriptions full-image articles published
1995 - present
General OneFile   Full-Text   BR 69+ History titles full-text/full-image, 5,000+ total periodicals FT/FI 
Note: capitalize AND, OR
articles published
1980 - present
JSTOR   Full-Text   BR 39 History titles, 14 Anthropology titles, & 10 Archaeology titles (all full-image) articles published
19th century - present
SocAbs (Sociological Abstracts)      BR Citations & abstracts from over 1,800 journals, including immigration-specific titles. Books, book chapters, dissertations, & conference papers are also indexed. works published
1952 - present
MLA [literature]  BR Periodical articles, books & book chapters works published
1963 - present
ReadersGuideRetro   BR Popular literature articles published
1890 - 1982
ERIC [Education]   BR Journal articles and education-related documents, lesson plans, etc. works published
1966 - present

 

Newspaper Databases

New York Times   Full-Text  BR

 

articles published
current 365 days
InfoTrac Custom 150   Full-Text  BR 150 national & international newspapers & news services, including L.A. Times, New York Times, and The Times (London)  Note: capitalize AND, OR articles published
1996 - present
NewsBank  Full-Text  BR 500+ regional and national newspapers articles published
1992 - present
The Times & Sunday Times (London)  Full-Text   BR older issues through 1996 on microfilm Recent 7 days full-image; index 1985 - present

Newspaper Indexes
(all located in Abstracts Shelves)

Source
Dates Held
Call Number
New York Times Index (newspaper on microfilm)
1851 - 2002
AI 21 .N45
New York Times Personal Name Index
1851 - present
AI 21 .N4522
The Times Index; Index to the Times (London)  (newspaper on microfilm)
1790 - 1996
AI 21 .T46

 

Scholarly & Popular Literature Indexes
(all located in Abstracts Shelves)

Source
Dates Held
Call Number
International Index to Periodicals
1907 - 1955
AI 3 .I58
International Index
1955 - 1965
AI 3 .I58
Social Sciences & Humanities Index
1965 - 1974
AI 3 .I58
Humanities Index
1974 - 1991
AI 3 .H58
Social Sciences Index
1974 - 1991
AI 3 .I582
Poole's
1802 - 1899
AI 3 .P71
Reader's Guide
1900 - 1984
AI 3 .R48
Book Review Digest
1905 - 1983
Z 1035 .A1 B55
Book Review Index
1965 - 1979
1983 - present
Z 1035 .A1 B6


Acquiring materials not held by Olson Library
      (Note:
Before submitting request, must verify through NMU library catalog that we do not own book/video/etc., or subscribe to       journal/magazine issue in either paper or online formats.)

Interlibrary Loan - General Information
Submit requests while in FirstSearch by clicking on ILL Interlibrary at top-left of page. When not using FirstSearch, submit requests via ILL Request Form.
Allow minimum of 7-10 days (2-3 weeks during February & October) to receive materials. May take up to 30 days for obscure titles.


Evaluating Internet Sources - Guide to critically analyze and evaluate web pages & web sites.


Specific Web Sites

Librarian's Index to the Internet - Web sites evaluated by California librarians.

USAGov
- Federal & State government search engine - use Advanced Search mode


Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours