Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


HS 307 Early Modern Europe: French Revolution
Dr. Goodrich
(rev. 1/15/12)

History/Historiography Information Resources
Instruction provided & guide developed by Profs. Mike Strahan & Marcus Robyns

Olson Library (227-2463) & NMU Archives (227-1046)

Click here to chat or find out when Prof. Strahan is available

NMU Olson Library provides subscription access to the entire Chicago Manaul of Style online (16th edition, 2010).

Chicago Style library guide
(based upon 15th ed., 2003) includes examples of how to cite materials in both paper and online formats.

 


Finding Materials Using Library Catalogs

Click on the Catalog tab above to search the library catalog for books, titles of periodicals, government documents,
and audiovisual materials the library owns. 

Library Map

For help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers.

The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines, journals, or newspapers, only which magazines and
journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.).  Instead, use the OneSearch tab above to search for articles.

MeLCat (Academic & Public Michigan Libraries [except U. MI])

WorldCat (Worldwide holdings of academic, public, and special libraries)


Other online resources of primary & secondary materials

American Memory Project (Library of Congress)

Oxford Reference Online — Online full-text (some with illustrations) reference books. Includes Oxford Companion series and 22 History-related titles .


Interlibrary Loan (ILL) - Acquiring materials not held by Olson Library
      (Note:
Before submitting request, you must verify through NMU library catalog that we do not own book/video/etc., or subscribe to  journal/magazine issue in either paper or online formats.)

General Information
Submit requests while in OneSearch / databases by going to Step 3 & click on Request Form.
Allow minimum of 10 days (2-3 weeks during February & October) to receive materials. May take longer for obscure titles.

ILL Request Form - use when requesting materials while not in OneSearch or a database.

Scholarly & Popular Literature Databases

JSTOR  290 History titles, 86 Anthropology, & 81 Archaeology titles (all full-image) articles published
18th century - present
ReadersGuideRetro Popular literature articles published
1890 - 1982

 

Newspaper Index
located in Abstracts Shelves)

Source
Dates Held
Call Number
The Times Index; Index to the Times (London)  (newspaper on microfilm)
1790 - 1996
AI 21 .T46

 

 



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours