Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


HS 360 Revolutionary China
Dr. Mihalopoulos

Finding books:

Search the NMU Olson Library catalog by Journal Title/Author/Title/Subject or Keyword to find records for books, journal titles, government documents, etc., in a variety of formats (including online) held by NMU, LSSU, Finlandia U., and GCC libraries. Cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns.  Use one of the databases listed below for locating articles. Hint: When searching for subjects, use "Guided Search" and set limit to NMU Olson Library.

Worldwide, use WorldCat  (Note: To retrieve & view online theses & dissertations, enter key words, click on "Internet Resources" & change "Any Content" drop box to "Thesis/dissertation".

Reference Resources

Oxford Reference Online Online full-text (some with illustrations) reference books. Includes Oxford Companion series and 22 History-related titles.

Britannica Online -- The Encyclopaedia Britannica.

Asia for Educators -- Subtitled "An initiative of the East Asian Curriculum Project and the Project on Asia in the Core Curriculum" this web site, hosted by Columbia University, gives a wealth of background information.

The Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Paul Edwards, editor in chief. New York, Macmillan [1967]. 8 volumes and one supplement.
NMU Reference Encyclopedia Cases (LRC 2nd floor)
B41 .E5.


Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Acquiring materials not held by Olson Library

Before submitting your first ILL request, you must register with the system (one time). Register Now

Before submitting request, you must verify through Full Text Electronic Journal Holdings and the NMU library catalog that we do not subscribe to journal/magazine issue in any format, or we do not hold the book/video/etc.

While in an online database (e.g., America: History & Life or ReadersGuideRetro), submit requests by clicking on Request form link located in popup box.

Allow minimum of 10 days to receive materials; request default is 30 days.
General Information

 

Scholarly & Popular Literature Databases

Source  
BR = includes book reviews

Description/Notes
Dates Covered

Literature Resource Center

All Gale biography-related resources including Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, etc. All years
ACLS Humanities E-Book Project BR Collection of high-quality full-text books in all areas of history. These scholarly works are of major importance to historical studies which are frequently cited in the literature. 1900 - present; 1,200+ works in full-image & full-text
AH Search [Arts & Humanities Search] BR

Indexes all areas of History, especially Ancient History; primarily used as a citator database. Indexes 160+ History titles.

As an index, articles published 1980 - present; cites works from any time
ECO [Electronic Collections Online]   BR 120+ History titles indexed, 9 subscriptions full-image articles published
1995 - present
Academic OneFile  BR 5,000+ total periodicals FT/FI 
Note: capitalize AND, OR
articles published
1980 - present
JSTOR   BR 39+ History titles, 14 Anthropology, & 11 Archaeology titles (all full-image) articles published
19th century - present
Google Scholar [in beta] Indexes publisher & scholarly web sites & journals. Includes a citator feature & has links to library full-text holdings. recent articles
MLA [literature]  BR Periodical articles, books & book chapters

works published
1963 - present

Information about Citing Sources

Chicago Style (based upon 15th ed., 2003) includes examples of how to cite materials in both paper and online formats.

Other library information:

Olson Library "Ask A Librarian" reference assistance including interactive chat (227-2294) (info@nmu.edu)

Library Map



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours