Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


HS 490 Junior/Senior Seminar
Dr. Defonso

History/Historiography Information Resources
Guide Developed by Prof. Mike Strahan, Olson Library (227-2463)


Olson Library "Ask A Librarian" reference assistance including interactive chat (227-2294) (info@nmu.edu)

Chicago Style
(based upon 15th ed., 2003) includes examples of how to cite materials in both paper and online formats.

Library Map

Locating books, government documents, periodical records, manuscript collections, theses, and dissertations

Full Text Electronic Journal Holdings - Searchable list of library-subscribed online journals with database & publisher links. Search on exact beginning of journal title, words contained in journal title, or by subject area. NOTE: When searching for journal titles, use this resource before searching the library catalog.

Search the NMU Olson Library catalog by Journal Title/Author/Title/Subject or Keyword to find records for books, journal titles, government documents, etc., in a variety of formats (including online) held by NMU, LSSU, Finlandia U., and GCC libraries. Cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns.  Use one of the databases listed below for locating articles. Hint: When searching for subjects, use "Guided Search" and set limit to NMU Olson Library.

Peter White Public Library catalog Good for locating older popular magazines not held by NMU Library.

Worldwide, use WorldCat  (Note: To retrieve & view online theses & dissertations, enter key words, click on "Internet Resources" & change "Any Content" drop box to "Thesis/dissertation".

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations Union Catalog - Contains records for many freely available online theses and dissertations held by 204 universities & institutions worldwide. Keyword searchable.

Directory of ETD's Currently in Progress (Humanities) (some not free)

American Memory Project (Library of Congress)

Internet Archive — Wealth of resources including ability to view/download over 19,000 films, movies, and newsreels. Both videostream & download MPEG available. Hint: Using Advanced Search, besides entering keywords, set Date range and limit to Mediatype: movies

Google Scholar Indexes publisher & scholarly web sites & journals. Includes a citator feature & has links to library full-text holdings.

Oxford Reference Online Online full-text (some with illustrations) reference books. Includes Oxford Companion series and 22 History-related titles.

Heritage Quest Online — Click on Search Books link to access thousands of online full-text/image resources including family histories & local history books.

Internet Archive - Text Archive - List of online text collections.

Google Book Search (advanced mode) - Search full-text of books; Google account required to view selected text.

Microsoft Live Search Books - Search full-text of books; MSN/Hotmail/Messenger/Windows Live account required to view selected text.


Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Acquiring materials not held by Olson Library

** New ** ILLIAD has arrived. However, before submitting your first ILL request, you must register with the system (one time). Register Now

Before submitting request, you must verify through Full Text Electronic Journal Holdings and the NMU library catalog that we do not subscribe to journal/magazine issue in any format, or we do not hold the book/video/etc.

While in an online database (e.g., America: History & Life or ReadersGuideRetro), submit requests by clicking on Request form link located in popup box.

Allow minimum of 10 days to receive materials; request default is 30 days.
General Information


Local/State History Resources

Indexes to Michigan History & Michigan History Magazine

1986 - present Suggestion: Use Ctrl-F to find text on page
Older years Paper indexes shelved with bound periodicals: F 561 .M57

City of Marquette home page

Marquette County home page

Central U.P. & NMU Archives Suggestion: Collections

Marquette County Historical Society & J.M. Longyear Research Library

Peter White Public Library (Marquette)

List of Michigan Historical Societies/Organizations Web Sites

 

Biographical Reference Resources

Source  
BR = includes book reviews

Description/Notes
Dates Covered
Literature Resource Center All Gale full-text biography-related resources including Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, etc. All years
Biography & Genealogy Master Index Indexes 1,000's of biographical books, directories, Who's Who, etc. works published
1900 - present
Biography Reference Bank Periodical articles, books & book chapters. works published
1984 - present
U.S. Census (historical data) Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts. 1790-present

Scholarly & Popular Literature Databases

ACLS Humanities E-Book Project BR Collection of high-quality full-text books in all areas of history. These scholarly works are of major importance to historical studies which are frequently cited in the literature. 1900 - present; 1,200+ works in full-image & full-text
America: History & Life BR Indexes U.S. & Canadian History from prehistory to present.
1700+ History titles, plus books and dissertations.
articles published 1960 - present;
late 19th century - present of most important historical journals in JSTOR
ArticleFirst BR Indexes all areas of History. Indexes table of contents from 330+ History titles. articles published
1990 - present
AH Search [Arts & Humanities Search] BR

Indexes all areas of History, especially Ancient History; primarily used as a citator database. Indexes 160+ History titles.

As an index, articles published 1980 - present; cites works from any time
ECO [Electronic Collections Online]   BR 120+ History titles indexed, 9 subscriptions full-image articles published
1995 - present
General OneFile   BR 69+ History titles full-text/full-image, 5,000+ total periodicals FT/FI 
Note: capitalize AND, OR
articles published
1980 - present
JSTOR   BR 39+ History titles, 14 Anthropology, & 11 Archaeology titles (all full-image) articles published
19th century - present
Sociological Abstracts BR Citations & abstracts from over 1,800 journals. Books, book chapters, dissertations, & conference papers are also indexed. works published
1952 - present
CWI (Contemporary Womens Issues) BR Citations & abstracts from journals, books, book chapters, government documents, & research reports. works published
1992 - present
ABI/INFORM [business & economics] BR Citations & abstracts from nearly 2,000 journals. Full-text/full-image for approximately 1,500 titles. articles published
1971 - present
"Search by publication" to retrieve full-image of earlier articles (1800's-1970)
MLA [literature]  BR Periodical articles, books & book chapters works published
1963 - present
ERIC [Education]   BR Journal articles and education-related documents, lesson plans, etc. works published
1966 - present
ReadersGuideRetro   BR Popular literature articles published
1890 - 1982

 

Newspaper Databases

Access World News  BR Full text coverage of 600+ regional and national newspapers, and 500+ international news sources. varies by newspaper, articles published
1980's - present

The Times & Sunday Times (London) via InfoTrac Custom Newspapers (1985-present)

via Access World News (1998-present)
BR

1788 - 1996 on microfilm  

Newspaper Index
(all located in Abstracts Shelves)

Source
Dates Held
Call Number
The Times Index; Index to the Times (London)  (newspaper on microfilm)
1790 - 1996
AI 21 .T46

 

Scholarly & Popular Literature Indexes
(all located in Abstracts Shelves)

Source
Dates Held
Call Number
International Index to Periodicals
1907 - 1955
AI 3 .I58
International Index
1955 - 1965
AI 3 .I58
Social Sciences & Humanities Index
1965 - 1974
AI 3 .I58
Humanities Index
1974 - 1991
AI 3 .H58
Social Sciences Index
1974 - 1991
AI 3 .I582
 
 
Poole's
1802 - 1899
AI 3 .P71
Reader's Guide
1900 - 1984
AI 3 .R48
 
 
Book Review Digest
1905 - 1983
Z 1035 .A1 B55
Book Review Index
1965 - 1979
1983 - present
Z 1035 .A1 B6


Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours