Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


HS 490 Junior/Senior Seminar
IP 490 International Studies Seminar
Dr. Goodrich

History/Historiography Information Resources
Guide Developed by Prof. Mike Strahan, Olson Library (227-2463)


Olson Library "Ask A Librarian" reference assistance including interactive chat (227-2294) (info@nmu.edu)

Chicago Style
(based upon 15th ed., 2003) includes examples of how to cite materials in both paper and online formats.

Turabian Style Reference Formats Guide includes examples of how to cite materials in both paper and online formats.

Library Map

Locating books, government documents, periodical records, manuscript collections, theses, and dissertations

For Library Catalog, use "Guided Search" and set limit to NMU Olson Library

Worldwide, use WorldCat  (Note: To retrieve & view online theses & dissertations, enter key words, click on "Internet Resources" & change "Any Content" drop box to "Thesis/dissertation".

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations Union Catalog - Contains records for many freely available online theses and dissertations held by 204 universities & institutions worldwide. Keyword searchable.

Directory of ETD's Currently in Progress (Humanities) (some not free)

American Memory Project (Library of Congress)

Oxford Reference Online — Online full-text (some with illustrations) reference books. Includes Oxford Companion series and 22 History-related titles .

Biographical Reference Resources

Source  
Full-Text = full-text/full-image
BR = includes book reviews

Description/Notes
Dates Covered
Gale Literary Index All Gale biography-related resources including Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, etc. All years
Biography & Genealogy Master Index Indexes 1,000's of biographical books, directories, Who's Who, etc. works published
1900 - present
Biography Reference Bank Periodical articles, books & book chapters. works published
1984 - present
U.S. Census (historical data) Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts. 1790-present

Scholarly & Popular Literature Databases

ArticleFirst BR Indexes all areas of History. Indexes table of contents from 330+ History titles. articles published
1990 - present
AH Search [Arts & Humanities Search] BR

Indexes Ancient History; major focus as a citator database.
Indexes 160+ History titles.

articles published
1980 - present
ECO [Electronic Collections Online]   Full-Text  BR 120+ History titles indexed, 9 subscriptions full-image articles published
1995 - present
General OneFile   Full-Text   BR 69+ History titles full-text/full-image, 5,000+ total periodicals FT/FI 
Note: capitalize AND, OR
articles published
1980 - present
JSTOR   Full-Text   BR 39+ History titles, 14 Anthropology, & 10 Archaeology titles (all full-image) articles published
19th century - present
Sociological Abstracts BR Citations & abstracts from over 1,800 journals. Books, book chapters, dissertations, & conference papers are also indexed. works published
1952 - present
CWI (Contemporary Womens Issues) BR Citations & abstracts from journals, books, book chapters, government documents, & research reports. works published
1992 - present
ABI/INFORM [business & economics] Full-Text BR Citations & abstracts from nearly 2,000 journals. articles published
1971 - present
"Search by publication" to retrieve full-image of earlier articles (1800's-1970)
MLA [literature]  BR Periodical articles, books & book chapters works published
1963 - present
ERIC [Education]   BR Journal articles and education-related documents, lesson plans, etc. works published
1966 - present
ReadersGuideRetro   BR Popular literature articles published
1890 - 1982

 

Newspaper Databases

Access World News  Full-Text  BR 600+ regional and national newspapers, and 500+ international news sources varies by newspaper, articles published 1980's - present
The Times & Sunday Times (London)  Full-Text
Free searching of the archive index

BR
older issues through 1996 on microfilm Recent 7 days full-image; Archive index 1985 - present

Newspaper Index
(all located in Abstracts Shelves)

Source
Dates Held
Call Number
The Times Index; Index to the Times (London)  (newspaper on microfilm)
1790 - 1996
AI 21 .T46

 

Scholarly & Popular Literature Indexes
(all located in Abstracts Shelves)

Source
Dates Held
Call Number
International Index to Periodicals
1907 - 1955
AI 3 .I58
International Index
1955 - 1965
AI 3 .I58
Social Sciences & Humanities Index
1965 - 1974
AI 3 .I58
Humanities Index
1974 - 1991
AI 3 .H58
Social Sciences Index
1974 - 1991
AI 3 .I582
 
 
Poole's
1802 - 1899
AI 3 .P71
Reader's Guide
1900 - 1984
AI 3 .R48
 
 
Book Review Digest
1905 - 1983
Z 1035 .A1 B55
Book Review Index
1965 - 1979
1983 - present
Z 1035 .A1 B6


Acquiring materials not held by Olson Library
      (Note:
Before submitting request, must verify through NMU library catalog that we do not own book/video/etc., or subscribe to       journal/magazine issue in either paper or online formats.)

Interlibrary Loan - General Information
Submit requests while in FirstSearch by clicking on ILL Interlibrary at top-left of page. When not using FirstSearch, submit requests via the
library catalog. Allow minimum of 7-10 days (2-3 weeks during February & October) to receive materials. May take up to 30 days for obscure titles.

 



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours