Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


Library Resource Guide
for MSED 251: Life Science for Educators

For help with any of these resources, contact Kevin McDonough through the IM window on the right, email (kmcdonou@nmu.edu), or phone (906-227-2118).

Books

Library Catalog
Contains the books, government documents, and audio-visual materials in Olson Library and three other libraries in the U.P. Books are a great place to get an overview on a subject and help narrow your topic to an answerable question. Also, many books provide links into the journal literature through the inclusion of one or more reference lists.

Journal Articles

Google Scholar
Contains peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Provides unique features, such as relevance ranking of your results, the ability to find "Related Articles", and the opportunity to see other papers that have cited a specific paper. A couple of drawbacks include limited searching capabilities (full text or title), and no consistent links directly to the article.


Natural Sciences
Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide
Covers all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, parasites, and more. Includes coverage from Central and South America. Includes references to journals; unpublished research reports, field studies, and surveys from U.S. state agencies; proceedings of conferences and symposia; websites; government reports; grey literature; books; theses and dissertations. Coverage from 1935 to present.

Agricola
Multidisciplinary index reflecting the contents of the National Agricultural Library and other agricultural and scientific institutions. Covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, agricultural economics, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. References to articles in journals and magazines, books, book chapters, theses, patents, computer software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports. Dates of coverage from 1970 to present.

JSTOR *full text
The complete, searchable, full text articles from over 160 core scholarly journals (every issue up to the last 1-5 years). This is not a very large database and is meant to browse journals by name and date. However, you can search across particular subject areas, which contain several journals per area. For MSED 251, the subject areas of interest are ecology, botany, and general science.

BioOne *full text
69+ full-text journals published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Journals tend to emphasize plant, animal, and ecological research.

Medical Sciences and Allied/Public Health
PubMed
The premier database for biomedical research and the clinical sciences. Very good coverage of journal literature in cellular and molecular biology and biochemistry. Contains citations from more than 4,800 biomedical journals published, dating back to the mid-1960's.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Nursing and health materials. Indexes scholarly/professional journals, pamphlets, research instruments, theses & dissertations, etc. Covers material published 1982-present.

Academic OneFile *full text
Multidisciplinary database covering all subjects, but with a good amount of biomedical and health information.

Health Reference Center Academic*full text
Medicine, nursing, and health literature. Integrated portal offers access to journal and magazine articles, online illustrated encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, drug & herb finder, web sites, and health assessment tools. Covers material published 1980-present.


Journal Abbreviations

Journal Title Abbreviations
A service provided by the California Institute of Technology's Library System.



APA Style
APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common types of sources, including web sites and online journal articles, according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.  Consult the Manual in the library's Reference Collection (BF 76.7 P83) for further information or types of sources not listed here.

 



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours