Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


MSED 340 : Fundamental Concepts in Science

 

 

eBooks (NetLibrary)
A collection of more than 50,000 digital versions of books. In addition to being able to navigate through the contents of a book page by page, you have the ability to navigate using the Table of Contents, the Index, or to search the full text of the eBook.

Journal Articles

Online Education Databases This includes links to ERIC, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA), Psych Books and Psych Info, and the following:

JSTOR *full text
The complete, searchable, full text articles from over 160 core scholarly journals (every issue up to the last 1-5 years). This is not a very large database and is meant to browse journals by name and date. However, you can search across particular subject areas, which contain several journals per area. For MSED 340, the subject areas of interest are ecology, botany, and general science.

Google Scholar
Contains peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Provides unique features, such as relevance ranking of your results, the ability to find "Related Articles", and the opportunity to see other papers that have cited a specific paper.

More Databases

PubMed
Indexes medicine, biomedical, and health scholarly/professional journals. Covers material published 1965-present.

MathSciNet – Journals, books, and other resources containing new contributions to mathematical research. In addition, includes data on advanced-level textbooks and expository papers that may not contain new research, but are of interest to scholars and research mathematicians.1940 to present.

Supporting Databases


Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide
Covers all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, parasites, and more. Includes coverage from Central and South America. Includes references to journals; unpublished research reports, field studies, and surveys from U.S. state agencies; proceedings of conferences and symposia; websites; government reports; grey literature; books; theses and dissertations. Coverage from 1935 to present.

Agricola
Multidisciplinary index reflecting the contents of the National Agricultural Library and other agricultural and scientific institutions. Covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, agricultural economics, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. References to articles in journals and magazines, books, book chapters, theses, patents, computer software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports. Dates of coverage from 1970 to present.

ACS Journal Archives
RSC Journals Archive
Both of these collections provide access to chemical literature. ACS consists of 36+ journals from the American Chemical Society going back to 1879. RSC provides access to 46 chemistry journals from 1841 to 1996. Although these collections are relatively small, they go back a long ways and are completely full text. For biochemistry information you should also search Medline.

Borrowing Materials from Other Libraries

MelCat , the Michigan Electronic Library Catalog, allows you to search public and academic libraries throughout the State of Michigan and request books and media. Items usually arrive in about a week. This resource is provided by the Michigan eLibrary ( http://mel.org ). You will be notified by email when your items arrive.

InterLibrary Loan also allows you to obtain materials not owned by the Olson LIbrary. Books, periodical articles,and other sources can be borrowed from other libraries. The average time to receive requested materials is 1-2 weeks and you will be notified by email when your items arrive.

 

Journal Abbreviations

Journal Title Abbreviations
A service provided by the California Institute of Technology's Library System.

 

APA Style
APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common types of sources, including web sites and online journal articles, according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.  Consult the Manual in the library's Reference Collection (BF 76.7 P83) for further information or types of sources not listed here

Need Further Assistance?

You can contact SaraJane Tompkins by email or by phone at 227-2431.

 

 


 

 

 

 

 


Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours