Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


MSU MSW Program - NMU Olson Library Resources

Instruction session taught by Professor Mike Strahan
Reference/Instruction Coordinator & Library Distance Education Services Librarian
Olson Library

Olson Library reference assistance - 227-2294 or e-mail: info

SEE ALSO Social Work: After Graduation Freely-accessible Resources

Notes
Wired & wireless network access is available throughout the Library and the NMU campus, but only to laptops registered on the network while on-campus. MSU MSW students must connect their laptop to an orange network jack, visit the HelpDesk web page entitled Registering a Computer on the Campus Network which contains information & links, and enter their NMU network ID & password when prompted.

The NMU ID card you received from the Wildcat Express office does not have any money on it. On the library main floor is the only machine on campus where you may physically add money to the card.

Laser printing is available in the library lobby (main floor) and costs five cents per page (deducted from your NMU ID card). You must send your print request from a library computer. There is also a Printing Workstation available where you may load files saved on diskette, CD, or flash drive/jump drive, but only for the purpose of printing, not writing/creating/editing.

APA Style Reference Formats Guide includes examples of how to cite materials in both paper
and online formats.

Library Map

Locating books, government documents, periodical records, manuscript collections, theses, and dissertations

Library Catalog contains records for books, theses, journal titles, government documents, etc., in a variety of formats (including online) held by NMU, LSSU, Finlandia U., and GCC libraries.  (Note:  Does not contain articles which appear in journals—see Searching/Locating Article Records below.)

Worldwide, use WorldCat  (Note: To retrieve & view online theses & dissertations, enter key words, click on "Internet Resources" & change "Any Content" drop box to "Thesis/dissertation".

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations Union CatalogContains records for freely available online theses and dissertations held by over 200 universities worldwide.  Click on Keyword (upper right corner) to search, then change search field(s) to: anywhere


Searching/Locating Article Records & Online Materials Through Databases
Notes:
Students MUST HAVE NMU computer/e-mail ID & password to access subscription databases when connecting via another Internet Provider (e.g., school district, up.net, Charter, etc.). Viewing, printing, and downloading online full-image of articles requires Adobe Reader software. Click here to download software directly from Adobe.

Please turn off popup blockers before use.
Full-TextDenotes database contains full-text/full-image material.
Look for the new link in records to check availability of online articles.

Social Work

Social Services Abstracts The database abstracts and indexes over 1,400 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles, dissertations, web sites, and citations to book reviews.

SocAbs (Sociological Abstracts)  Contains records for scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, reports/documents, theses, dissertations, conference papers, and web sites. Includes core/major Social Work journals.


Social Sciences


PsycInfo (Psychological Abstracts) — Contains records for scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, reports/documents, theses, dissertations, and conference papers.

PsycARTICLES (Psychology) Full-Text — Contains records for ONLINE PDF scholarly articles from 52 Psychology journals published 1987-present.

ERIC  — Contains records for scholarly journal articles (some online full-text) and ERIC Documents (many online full-text reports/documents, theses, dissertations, and conference papers).

Law


LegalTrac Full-Text — Contains records for scholarly and trade/professional law journals & legal resources.

Medicine & Health


Health & Wellness Resource Center (+ alternative health)
   Full-Text — Integrated portal offering a variety of types of literature covering medicine, consumer health, nursing, wellness, and alternative therapies. Full-text/image articles, online illustrated encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, drug & herb finder, web sites, and health assessment tools are provided.  Contains records for 700+ periodicals plus hundreds of other publications. 


CINAHL PlusFull-Text — Contains records from over 924 scholarly & professional journals, plus hundreds of books, audiovisuals, pamphlets, software, dissertations, and research instruments.

MEDLINE — Contains records from over 9,500 scholarly & professional journals. Select specific "Record Type Phrase" to restrict search to formerly separate NLM databases (Bioethics, Dentistry, Health Administration, etc.)  Also recommend changing "Language Phrase" to English.

 



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours