Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


MU 320: Survey of Jazz
Instructor: Mark Flaherty

Library Resource Guide

For Assistance?

Stop by the Reference Desk for assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294.


Chicago Style Guide
This guide includes some of the more common examples for citing references as end notes or in bibliographies. Chicago style dictates that all references are indented and single-spaced . The examples are based on guidelines listed in the The Chicago Manual of Style (15th edition, 2003).

Selected Reference Sources

Reference sources offer convenient access to a wide range of information. Everything from statistical sources to specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries can be found in the reference collection. The following is a small sample of relevant resources for music. Browse the collection in these call number ranges or check at the Reference Desk to locate additional sources.

Electronic reference sources: Print reference sources:
allmusic New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians
Reference ML100 .N48 2002 (29 volumes)
Google Scholar Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music
ML105 .H38 1996
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
ML100 .G16 1998 (10 volumes)
Oxford Music Online (includes the Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, Oxford Companion to Music, & Encyclopedia of Popular Music) Biographical Encyclopedia of Jazz
ML102 .J3 F39 1999
  Jazz: the rough guide
ML102 .J3 C33 1995
  New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd ed.)
Reference ML102 .J3 N48 2001 (3 volumes)
  Encyclopedia of Jazz & Blues
ML102.J3 S5 2001
   
   

 

Sources for Locating Journal Articles

Music Index
A print index in the reference collection (REF ML 1 . M88) indexing articles on music. We have v. 1 (1949) - v. 54 (2002). Published since 1949, The Music Index is a comprehensive annual Subject-Author Guide to Music Periodical Literature. Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are thoroughly categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal Subject List which includes both Subject and Geographic headings. Covering all styles and genres of music, The Music Index duly cites book reviews, obituaries, new periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.

JSTOR
The complete, searchable, full text articles from over 1,000 core scholarly journals (every issue up to the last 1-5 years). Journals are divided into 47 disciplines including, but not limited to, music.
Date of Coverage: 1878 to "moving wall" (each journal has a "moving wall" of 1-5 years before the most recently published issue).

General OneFile
Index to articles in over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Services.  Indexing begins in 1980 with full text starting in 1983.  Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.


Internet Resources

Evaluating Internet Sources

JazzWorld.com
This site features contemporary performers. Each artist has his or her own page, with a biographical sketch, discography, and favorite links. This is a commercial site, offering musical jazz CDs for sale from smaller music vendors not otherwise readily available to jazz fans.

Jazz Online
Provides an introduction to various styles of jazz, reviews of recent releases, interviews, and more.

Jazz/Blues Archives, Collections & Museums
This site contains a list of "links to institutions which have jazz and blues archives or significant collections of jazz and blues materials." The list includes archives and collections outside the United States, and is arranged in alphabetical order by the hosting institution. From the Joseph Regenstein Library at the University of Chicago.

Jazz at Lincoln Center (JALC)
Web site of "the world's largest not-for-profit arts organization dedicated to jazz ." Features performance schedules; information about JALC's extensive education programs for students, teachers, and families; news about the jazz world; and biographical sketches of artists who perform at the center. Searchable.


Interlibrary Loan (ILL) — Acquiring materials not held by Olson Library

Before submitting your first ILL request, you must register with the system (one time).

You must also verify through the NMU library catalog and Full Text Electronic Journal Holdings that we do not subscribe to journal/magazine issue in either paper or online formats, or we do not hold the book/video/etc.

While in an online database (e.g., HumanitiesAbs), submit requests by clicking on Request form link located in popup box.

Allow minimum of 10 days to receive materials; request default is 30 days.
General Information & link to registration
.

 


Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours