Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


Munising High School AP Class
Literary Criticism & Author Biographical Resources
Guide developed & instruction provided by Prof. Strahan
Rev. 1/06/09

JHU World Shakespeare Bibliography Online - Journal articles, books, and other materials related to Shakespeare. 1962 to present.

Jump to Search Individual Biographical Information Resources


Literary Criticism of Works Information Sources

Literature Resource Center
Provides access to three recognized author collections from Gale Publishers--Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography--along with over 300 journals, a variety of other important reference works, and selected Web sites. Also included is a literary-historical timeline with over 6,700 events to help place literature in its historical and social context, and Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, featuring more than 10,000 descriptive entries on literary figures, works, and terms.
Use results under all except "Biographies" tab

To locate criticisms in print Gale resources, search the Literary Index or the paper title indexes (tan cover) found in the reference collection to locate the author/title of a work in this set.

Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC)
Reference Collection: PN 771 .C59
This multivolume set provides excerpts from articles found in a variety of literary criticism sources.

Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (TCLC)
Reference Collection: PN 94 .G35
This multivolume set also provides excerpts from articles found in a variety of literary criticism sources.

Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)
Reference Collection: PN 451 .D52

Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook (DLBY)
Reference Collection: PN 451 .D526

These two sets contain extensive (ave. 10-30 pages) biographical and critical essays on thousands of writers. Each entry provides a comprehensive listing of writings as well as a bibliography of biographical and critical sources for each author.


MLA International Bibliography (1926-present)
The premier index to scholarly publications in the field of literature. 

Library Catalog
When searching for criticism of specific works in the library catalog, be sure to:

1. search from the title/author/subject search screen
2. select the Library of Congress Subject Heading search button
3. enter the author's last name first (ex. Faulkner William)
4. Look for the subheading Criticism and Interpretation or titles of individual works (e.g., Faulkner William --As I Lay Dying)

Book Review Index (1965-2003)
Indexes Collection: Z 1035 .A1 B6
Another source of potential book reviews.

General OneFile (1980-present)
Contains records from over 9,000 periodicals; over 4,300 online full-text. Recommend searching title of work as a phrase within quotation marks " " combined with author's last name first by Subject (su). Example:
Key word (ke) "pet sematary"
Subject (su) "King, Stephen"


LitLinks (free)
Site offered by the Bedford/St. Martin's Press that provides links to critical and biographical sites about individual authors. Organized by genre then by author. Focus mostly on non-contemporary/modern eras.

Online Literary Criticism (free)
Site offered by the Internet Public Library that provides links to critical and biographical sites about individual authors.


Biographical Information Sources

Literature Resource Center
Provides access to three recognized author collections from Gale Publishers--Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography--along with over 300 journals, a variety of other important reference works, and selected Web sites. Also included is a literary-historical timeline with over 6,700 events to help place literature in its historical and social context, and Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, featuring more than 10,000 descriptive entries on literary figures, works, and terms.
Use results under "Biographies" tab

To locate biographical information in print Gale resources, search the Literary Index or the paper index (blue cover) found in the reference collection to locate an author in this set.

Contemporary Authors (CA)
Reference Collection: PN 771 .C65

Contemporary Authors New Revision Series (CANR)
Reference Collection: PN 771 .C655

Something About the Author (SATA)
Reference Collection: PN 451 .S6

All of these sets contain short biographical essays on thousands of writers. Each entry provides a comprehensive listing of writings as well as a bibliography of biographical and critical sources for each author.

Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)
Reference Collection: PN 451 .D52

Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook (DLBY)
Reference Collection: PN 451 .D526

These two sets contain extensive (ave. 10-30 pages) biographical and critical essays on thousands of writers. Each entry provides a comprehensive listing of writings as well as a bibliography of biographical and critical sources for each author.


Library Catalog
When searching for biographical information in the library catalog, be sure to:

1. search from the title/author/subject search screen
2. select the Library of Congress Subject Heading search button
3. enter the author's last name first (ex. King Stephen)

Biography Reference Bank (1984-present)
Indexes Collection: AP 2 .B5 (1946-1983)
An index to biographical infomation found in over 2,700 periodicals and 1,800 books.  Use the printed indexes for information published before 1984.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
An index to more than 13 million biographical sketches found in hundreds of standard reference sources.  Since Olson Library does not own all of the souces, consult the library catalog to determine if we have a particular reference title.

General OneFile (1980-present)
Contains records from over 9,000 periodicals; over 4,300 online full-text. Recommend searching author's last name first by Subject (su). Example: Subject (su) "King, Stephen"

Search for Literary Criticism Works


APA Style

APA Style Guide with New 7/07 Electronic Formats
Examples of how to reference & cite a variety of materials, including online full text articles, according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Ref BF 76.7 P83 2001 and the 2007 electronic references manual. Note that the listing of resources is entitled References.


MLA Style

MLA Style Guide
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53.
Examples of how to reference & cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.  Consult the Handbook in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.

 



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours