Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


 

NAS 204: The Native American Experience

Library Resource Guide

Library Materials

Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.  To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map . Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers .

Encyclopedia of North American Indians
Also available in the Reference Collection: E 76.2 .E53

eBooks (EBSCO eBook Collection)
A collection of more than 22,000 digital versions of books. In addition to being able to navigate through the contents of a book page by page, you have the ability to navigate using the Table of Contents, the Index, or to search the full text of the eBook.

 

Databases

General

Academic OneFile - Journal articles from more than 8,000 scholarly and general periodicals across all fields of study. Indexing from 1980 to present; full-text from 1989 to present. Brought to you by the State of Michigan via the Michigan eLibrary (http://mel.org).

General OneFile - Journal, magazine, and news articles from over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Indexing 1980 to present; full-text 1983 to present. Brought to you by the State of Michigan via the Michigan eLibrary (http://mel.org).

America: History and Life . Includes citations from journals covering history and culture, area studies, and current affairs of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Also includes book and media reviews.

Art Resource

ARTstor - - A digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Images can be used for noncommercial educational and scholarly uses.

CAMIO
CAMIO, the Catalog of Art Museum Images Online is a collection of images from leading art museums , and many of the works are accompanied by sound, video and curatorial notes. All content is rights-cleared for educational use, lectures, presentations, class projects, and research. All visual media are represented, with a particular strength in contemporary art. It includes images of visual art in all media. High-resolution images are included for each work of art. There are 95,000 works of art (and growing) covering the period of 3000 BC - the present.

 

Internet Resources

Google Scholar - Journal articles, books, and other resources across many subjects. Provides a "cited by" feature to indicate other papers containing a source paper as a reference.

Clark Historical Library This web site includes an extensive Native American Bibliography, full text of treaties that effect Michigan, including Contemporary and historical issues as well as six case studies.

Minnesota Digital library Includes thousands of images from over 75 cultural heritage organizations.

Bentley Historical Library This resource guide allows the user to browse by tribe and location to access abstract information. Some information is available full text on-line.

Native American Links
Resources compiled in conjunction with the Native American Library Association.

Index of Native American Resources on the Internet .

 

MLA Style

MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to MLA style.

 

Need Further Assistance?

Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294.

 

 



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours