Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


Nursing

Job Hunting & After Graduation Freely-Accessible Profession & Patient Resources

Guide developed by Prof. Mike Strahan, Olson Library (227-2463)

Updated 3/15/2014

Live Chat/Contact Mike Here

** NEW **
Job-Hunting Resources

Professional Development

Information Overload including RSS

Information Portals (more than just articles)

Statewide Subscription Databases

Free Databases
Online Journals


Olson Library "Ask A Librarian" reference assistance including interactive chat
(227-2294) or
(info@nmu.edu)

Library Catalog contains records for books, journal titles, government documents, etc., in a variety of formats (including online) held by NMU, LSSU, Finlandia U., and GCC libraries.  (Note:  Does not contain articles which appear in journals.)

Accessing NMU Olson Library Resources after graduation

  1. Open to anyone walking in; may use library computers to access online databases. May e-mail material to self.

  2. Photocopiers use cash.

  3. Courtesy Card ($25/year) allow patrons to check out materials (same as students). Must
    live in the Upper Peninsula. Note: Fee is waived if member of NMU Alumni Association.

Library Map


Job-Hunting Resources

NMU Career Services

After College - Free Job Nursing Board -- special resources for NMU students (link from NMU School of Nursing Resources page)

Salaries, Cost of Living, & Relocation sources -- U.S. Dept. of State site

NMU Olson Library Job Hunting Guide -- links to other resources

Michigan Newspapers

The Mining Journal (also separate links to Escanaba, Houghton, Iron Mt., & Alpena newspapers)
Sault Ste. Marie Evening News (runs through Yahoo jobs)
Michigan Newspapers (50 states.com)

Wisconsin Newspapers

Wisconsin Newspapers (50 states.com)

Statewide

Michigan

CampusRN - Michigan -- link from NMU School of Nursing Resources page
Nurse iCON -- may also post resumes
Pure Michigan Talent Connect
MichiganWorks! government site
Michigan Licensed Practical Nurses Association -- free membership allows posting of resumes
nursingjobs.org - LPN
nursingjobs.org - RN
Michigan Temp Employment Agencies -- Michigan.gov site arranged by city

Wisconsin

CampusRN - Wisconsin
Wisconsin Nurses Association
Job Center of Wisconsin - Job Search -- Wisconsin government site

National

National Student Nurses Association Career Center -- search by state

nursingjobs.org

National Federation of Licensed Practical Nurses -- may also post resumes & e-mail job alert

CampusRN

allnurses.com -- link specific to searching jobs

NursingJobsPlus -- sponsored by LWW

jobsearchusa.org -- quick specialized search

monster.com -- this link specific to health care jobs

careerbuilder.com -- link specific to Nursing jobs

American Hospital Directory (independent profiles of hospitals)

Best Hospitals Ranking (U.S. News & World Report)


 

Professional Development
(Nurses should also seek out similar resources through professional organizations.)

Coping with Information Overload of the Literature

Twitter & Facebook - What else can I say in fewest words possible? Many organizations, CEU's, firms, and news providers communicate via Twitter. One example is: http://www.medscape.com/nurses

Manage all your IM, e-mail, and social networks using tools such as Digsby, Trillian, Adium (Mac-only), & Pidgin

CATALIST - Directory of professional discussion lists (not chat rooms).

RSS (Really Simple Syndication) - A convenient, spam-free feeder method to automatically receive journal table of contents, tracking news, web sites, and other information. Look for orange icon. Built-in "Live Bookmarks" function through FireFox & Internet Explorer 7 make RSS much easier. Sometimes also labeled as Alerts.
Note: RSS available through many resources listed on this guide.

Schloman, B. F. (2005). Staying current: What RSS can do for you. Online Journal of Issues in Nursing.

RSS/Blogs & News feeds Readers - bring together in one place
The Old Reader
Microsoft Live
Bloglines
Sitrion (formerly NewsGator)

Nursing Center - provided by LWW - gateway of resources.

Google Alerts
- automatic e-mail updates of latest Google search results on your specific topic.

Back to Menu


Information Portals

MEDLINEplus  - Sponsored by the NIH & NLM.  Includes interactive tutorials, health topics, drug information, illustrated medical encyclopedia, dictionary, health directory, and other resources.  Many resources are bilingual.

NLM's Databases & Electronic Information Resources - U.S. Government-hosted online health-related databases. Examples include Visible Human Project® and Turning the Pages (digitized rare biomedical books), plus specific resources for Native Americans, Asian Americans, clinical trials, etc.

Back to Menu


Statewide Access to Subscription Databases

Michigan eLibrary (MeL)  -  Requires Michigan Driver’s License # or State ID
Includes over 40 databases (some full-text) including EBSCO's e-books (formerly Netlibrary).

BadgerLink  - Registered ISP or Wisconsin public library card number

Cyberdrive Illinois - Requires contacting local Illinois public library for authorization & password

INSPIRE Indiana Virtual Library - Requires submitting Indiana local address info for password

Minnesota Statewide Access through ELM (Electronic Library for Minnesota) - Requires Minnesota public library card barcode number

Links to 49 Statewide Virtual Library Collections - Requires DL or library card number to access collections.

Back to Menu

Free Online Databases

OneSearch - Searching is free, but access to articles in subscription journals not available to the public.

WorldCat - simple search interface to the worldwide library catalog also available through FirstSearch. May also locate nearby libraries who hold materials by entering zip code.

ScienceDirect (most comprehensive science-specific search engine, but most articles not available for free)

Scirus has retired.

Google Scholar (Advance Search) Search for scholarly literature including peer-reviewed papers, technical reports, and books. Also used as a citator database which tracks references.

NLM Gateway - National Library of Medicine's one-stop search for conference meeting abstracts & research projects in progress..

MEDLINE / PubMed - Click on Limits tab to limit search by language, journal group (Nursing), age, gender, etc. Includes links to many freely available online journal artilces.

IngentaConnect – free Table of Contents searchable database (charges for articles) + free e-mailing of contents for up to 5 journals.

SUMSearch 2 - searches a variety of web resources including PubMed and metasearch engines. Excellent medical/nursing-oriented limiting (filters).

ERIC - Education & school health. Includes full-text of a few journals, and many ERIC documents.

Back to Menu


Free online journals

Free Medical Journals (open access)

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) - Free online access to full content of over 4,000 scientific & scholarly journals, including Nursing, Medicine, and Public Health titles. Holdings vary by title. Click on title to access journal. Searchable on the web site; many are also indexed in CINAHL &/or MEDLINE.

BioMed Central - over 150 peer-reviewed online free Open Acess journals.

LinkOut (National Library of Medicine) - Free online access to full content of over 650 journals; holdings vary by title. Click on title to access journal. All are indexed in MEDLINE.

On-Line Journal of Nursing Informatics (cumulative table of contents) - (select specific issue to see full issue contents) -- 1996-present free online access.  Older issues listed under Archives -- click on "Current Issue" button.  Also available through searching site. Also indexed in CINAHL, but not linked to online articles.

Back to Menu


Patient Education - Freely-accessible Resources

WebMD - Connects consumers and physicians to the health care industry.

Healthology Health Centers online videos - Very brief (under 2 minutes) patient-oriented information.

Teachertube - Peer-reviewed broad spectrum of patient- and profession-oriented information.

MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning & Online Teaching) - Peer-reviewed online teaching & learning materials.

Google Videos - Familiar search interface to broad spectrum of videos appearing on teachertube, youtube, etc.

UpToDate - Patient & Professional-oriented information.

MEDLINEplus  - Information portal Sponsored by the NIH & NLM.  Includes interactive tutorials, health topics, drug information, illustrated medical encyclopedia, dictionary, health directory, and other resources.  Many resources are bilingual.

DIRLINE - Searchable directory of health organizations. Not updated after Oct. 1, 2013.

iHealth by Medfusion - connects patients with physicians online.  Click on "For Patients" link to retrieve clinical information. 

Back to Menu



Misc. Profession-Related Resources
Cochrane Collaboration Consumer Network - Search and retrieve Cochrane Reviews abstracts. Consists of analyzed trials on health care treatments, advice, or other interventions in health care.  Abstracts of Reviews are searchable/viewable from this site. However, does not include full-text of reviews (only available through subscription).


NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination
(UK) - Simultaneous searching of three databases, plus abstracts of Reviews are searchable/viewable from this site.
DARE - database of quality assessed systematic seviews
NHSEED - economic evaluations of health care interventions
HTA - health technology assessment agencies 

RePORT Expenditures and Results (RePORTER) (form. Computer Retrieval of Information on Scientific Projects) - is a biomedical database system containing information on research projects and programs supported by the Department of Health and Human Services. Most of the research falls within the broad category of extramural projects, grants, contracts, and cooperative agreements conducted primarily by universities, hospitals, and other research institutions; and funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and other government agencies.

ACE Star (tm) - Academic Center for Evidence-Based Practice - Thorough website from the U. of TX Academic Center for Evidence-based Practice.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality - AHRQ - Check especially Evidence-based Practice link.

*NEW*Patient Safety and Quality: An Evidence-based Handbook for Nurses (2008)
download PDF (9.8MB)

*NEW* America's Best Hospitals

American Hospital Directory

NIH Clinical Alerts & Advisories - Findings from NIH-funded clinical trials

Clinical Trials  - Federally & privately supported clinical research projects in human volunteers

Evaluating the Internet, Evaluative Web Search Engines, and Metasearch Engines

Evaluating Internet Information - Provided by Olson Library

HON Code of Conduct (HONcode) - for medical and health Web sites

USAGov - Federal & State web sites search engine


ipl2 (form. Librarian's Internet Index)
Evaluates & reviews popular & scholarly web sites.

INFOMINE Evaluates & reviews scholarly web sites.

Ixquick - Metasearch engine which retrieves the top-ten results from each search engine.

Google Scholar (Advanced Search) Search for scholarly literature including peer-reviewed papers, technical reports, and books.

Google Books (Advanced Search) Search for online books, book chapters, & technical reports. View portion or entire book online. Some books require Free Google Account to access online content.

Google (Advanced Search)

National Academies Press - Search full-text of books & reports "issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, all operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States." Free login required to view free PDF books or book chapters. .

Back to Menu
 


Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours