Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


Nursing and Medicine Resources & Services
Library Guide developed & Instruction provided by Prof. Mike Strahan, Olson Library

Chat/Contact Mike @ the Library (when available?)

Click here for the newer Embedded Guide revised in 2012

Updated 10/20/2012

Fall 2008 Grad Nursing Library Instruction Videos
Part 1 - CINAHL, ILL, APA 8/18/08 - 98 minutes
Part 2 - Finding Journals Online, Cochrane & STAT!Ref
9/5/08 - 62 minutes


APA
Guide with New 6th ed. 2010 Formats

Citing Tables & Figures

Zotero References Software (FireFox or Netscape only)

Library Map

Nursing & Medicine in R's

Psychology in BF's

Specialized Resources

Health Statistics/Community Health/Epidemiology (also used for NE420)

MSN-only: Locating theses & dissertations, additional resources & tips (so far)


All Nursing Students (perform once)

Note: Students who registered with ILLiad in fall 2005, and previously created a FirstSearch account, should still create an account in the new CINAHL Plus with Full Text.

Please register with the ILLiad system before submitting your first ILL request.
Use your NMU student ID 14-digit barcode (on back) (begins with 21854xxxxxxxxx).
(If you have a 13-digit barcode, please go to the Wildcat Express office & get a new ID card
at no charge.)
If you are a distance student, use your LDES barcode.

To create an account in CINAHL will allow you to save search strategies & personalize the interface:
1. Access CINAHL Plus with Full Text
2. Click on: Sign In to My EBSCOhost
3. Click on: I'm a new user
4. Complete required fields & click on Submit button
5. Continue searching

To create an account for PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, SocAbs, Social Services Abstracts, and New ERIC (which will allow you to save search strategies & personalize the interface):
Access CSA Illumina's Create A Personal Profile
Log in through My Research link in database.

Optional: Creating an account in MEDLINE will allow you to save search strategies & personalize the interface:
1. Access MEDLINE via FirstSearch
2. Click on the My Account link (upper right)
3. Click on New User Registration link
4. Complete required fields & click on Register button

Back to Directory


Library Services

Olson Library "Ask A Librarian" reference assistance including interactive chat (227-2294) or (info@nmu.edu)

Library Distance Education Services (LDES) — students must meet specified eligibility criteria

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Acquiring materials not held by Olson Library

Please register with the ILLiad system before submitting your first ILL request.
(Wildcat Express or LDES card required.)


Before submitting any request, you must verify through Full Text Electronic Journal Holdings and the NMU library catalog that we do not subscribe to journal/magazine issue in either paper or online formats, or we do not hold the book/video/etc.

While in an online database (e.g., CINAHL), submit requests by clicking on Request form link located in popup box.

Allow minimum of 10 days to receive materials, and at least 2 weeks to receive book/other materials; request default is 30 days.
General Information

Back to Directory


Locating library holdings of journals, government documents, books, theses, etc.

Full Text Electronic Journal Holdings - Searchable list of library-subscribed online journals with database & publisher links. Search on exact beginning of journal title, words contained in journal title, or by subject area. NOTE: When searching for journal titles, use this resource before searching the library catalog.

Search the Library Catalog by Journal Title/Author/Title/Subject or Keyword to find records for books, journal titles, government documents, theses, etc., in a variety of formats (including online) held by NMU, LSSU, Finlandia U., and GCC libraries. (Note:  Does not contain articles which appear in journals—see Searching/Locating Article Records below.)

Worldwide, use WorldCat

Back to Directory

Research measurement terms to add to search strategy (either online database/web search engine)



Searching/Locating Article Records & Online Materials Through Online Databases

NOTES:Researchers MUST HAVE their NMU computer/e-mail ID & password to access most of the databases listed below when connecting via another Internet Provider (e.g., school district, up.net, Charter, etc.). Click here to retrieve your information.

** Important ** In order to view and download online PDF articles retrieved through FirstSearch, researchers must have Adobe Reader version 6.0 or later installed. Already installed on NMU laptops latest image. Download from NMU or Adobe.

Nursing/Medical/Science Periodical Abbreviations

Specialty lists of
library-subscribed online journals with database/publisher links

Nursing, Epidemiology, Evidence-based, Informatics,
Medicine (by category)
, All Health Sciences (by category)

Emergency Medicine, OB/GYN, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, Psychology, Surgery


Please turn off popup blockers before use.
Look for the new link in database records to check availability of online articles.

Evidence-based Nursing

Cochrane LibraryThe major resource for evidence-based health care research. Consists of 7 databases including Cochrane Systematic Reviews, a full-image resource which thoroughly identifies invervention for a specific disease/condition/problem and determines whether the invervention works. Brochure

How to cite a Cochrane review (APA style, revised 2010):

Shaw, K., O'Rourke, P., Del Mar, C., & Kenardy, J. (2005).

Psychological interventions for overweight or obesity. The

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews,
(2).

doi:10.1002/14651858.CD003818.pub2

Note: When accessing various databases, you may wish to consider creating an account to save search strategies. This feature is available for CINAHL (Sign in); PsycINFO, ERIC, etc. (My Research); and FirstSearch database MEDLINE.
Nursing, Allied Health, & Medicine

CINAHL Plus with Full Text — Nursing and Allied/Public Health materials. Indexes scholarly/professional journals, pamphlets, research instruments, theses & dissertations, etc. New interface includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets, & Quick Lessons CE Modules. Covers material published 1937-present.

MEDLINE — Indexes Medicine, Biomedical, and Nursing scholarly/professional journals. Covers material published 1965-present.

Health & Wellness Resource Center (+ alternative health) — Medicine, Nursing, and Health literature. Integrated portal offers access to journal and magazine articles, online illustrated encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, drug & herb finder, web sites, and health assessment tools. Covers material published 1980-present.
Note: Use "Search for Full Text" link to retrieve PDF version of article.

Social Sciences, Social Work,
Abuse-related, & Humanities
(religion, faith-healing,
Native Americans)

PsycINFO (Psychological Abstracts) — Psychology & Psychiatry. Indexes scholarly/professional journals, books, book chapters, reports/documents, theses & dissertations, and conference papers. Covers material published 1806-present.

PsycARTICLES (Psychology) — ONLINE PDF scholarly articles from 58 Psychology journals published 1985-present.

PsycBOOKS (Psychology) — ONLINE PDF of nearly 1,000 scholarly books & book chapters published 1806-present.

SocAbs (Sociological Abstracts) — Indexes scholarly/professional journals, books, book chapters, reports/documents, theses & dissertations, conference papers, and web sites. Covers material published
1952-present.

Social Services Abstracts — Social Services & Social Work. Indexes scholarly/professional journals, dissertations, web sites, and book reviews. Covers material published 1979-present.

ERIC  — Education. Indexes scholarly/professional journals, and ERIC Documents (ED's) (reports/documents, lesson plans, conference papers, theses, and dissertations--many freely available online). Covers material published 1966-present.

Law & Criminal Justice

WestLaw CampusComprehensive full-text law resource. All Federal and state regulations & laws, published court decisions, encyclopedias and digests, etc. Covers material published 1700's-present.

LegalTrac — Law. Indexes scholarly/professional law journals & legal resources. Covers material published 1980-present.

NCJRS Abstracts (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) Indexes scholarly & trade journals, books, book chapters, reports/documents, theses, dissertations, and conference papers. Covers material published 1970-present.
Note: Limit search to articles by combining search terms with the phrase
"journal article"
entered in the General Search box.

See also Legal Resources guide

Sports Medicine Sport Discus Sports Medicine, Exercise Physiology, Biomechanics, & Training. Indexes scholarly/professional journals and popular magazines, pamphlets, books, reports, theses & dissertations, and conference papers. Subjects covered include sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, and training. Covers material published 1859-present.

Business/Computers

ABI/INFORM Global — Contains records from nearly 2,000 Business & Economics scholarly & professional journals.  Over 50% online full-text/full-image. Indexes some nursing, hospital, health management, and medical records journals. Covers articles published 1971-present.

Computer Database — Indexes periodical articles covering all aspects of computer technology and systems. Full-text/full-image articles are available for over 25% of the 625+ periodicals indexed. Also includes product reviews/evaluations. Covers material published 1982-present.

Newspapers Access World News
Access World News provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. Indexing is cover-to-cover and coverage extends for some titles back to the mid 1970's. Excluded are any photos or graphs, along with paid advertising, classifieds, and paid obituaries.
Use to research job prospects (hospitals, clinics, etc.)

Back to Directory


Evidence-Based Practice Resources

(Note to NE 431 students: Some links in the Swan article have moved.)

ACE Star (tm) - Academic Center for Evidence-Based Practice - Thorough website from the U. of TX Academic Center for Evidence-based Nursing.

(AHRQ) Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Evidence-based Practice - AHRQ is the leading U.S. agency on quality of care research, and works collaboratively with public & private sectors to improve the quality & safety of patient care.

New (2008): Patienty Safety and Quality: An Evidence-Based Handbook for Nurses

AHRQ Evidence-based Practice Centers - all EPC reports available here
Center web sites include in-progress and non-AHRQ project details, plus other publications.

National Guideline Clearinghouse - Very comprehensive & searchable.


Arizona State U. College of Nursing Center for the Advancement of Evidence-Based Practice (CAEP)

Bandolier

Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association

Campbell Collaboration - Freely-available Systematic Reviews & Studies

Canadian Nurses Association - Info under various headings

Center for Evidence-Based Medicine at U. of Toronto

Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (UK) - Simultaneous searching of three databases, plus abstracts of Reviews are searchable/viewable from this site.

DARE - database of quality assessed systematic seviews
NHSEED - economic evaluations of health care interventions
HTA - health technology assessment agencies 

Cochrane Collaboration - Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

Duke University

ECRI

Gerontological Nursing Interventions Research Center, Research Dissemination Core, U. of Iowa

Joanna Briggs Institute for Evidence-Based Nursing & Midwifery

Johns Hopkins University Evidence-Based Nursing Practice Resources - Links to other EBP web sites

Johns Hopkins University Evidence-Based Practice Center

McMaster University HIRU Evidence-Based Health Informatics - Comprehensive web site of EB activities including EPC below.

McMaster University Evidence Based Practice Centre - One of three EPCs designated by AHRQ outside of the United States. Contributes much to EBP field, but few free reports online. Most valuable is EB Links and FAQ pages. Web site has not been updated since April 2005. See previous entry.

Michigan Quality Improvement Consortium Guidelines - Short list of diseases/conditions; guidelines are updated every two years.

National Guideline Clearinghouse - Very comprehensive & searchable.

National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence in the United Kingdom

National Institute of Clinical Studies in Australia

National Institute of Nursing Research - National Institutes of Health site

Oncology Nursing Society

Oregon Health & Science University

Oxford-Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine

Registered Nurses Association of Ontario Nursing Best Practices Guidelines

RTI International-University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Sarah Cole Hirsh Institute, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing, Case Western Reserve U. Best Nursing Practices Based on Evidence - Freely-available resources; searchable

Southern California Evidence-based Practice Center-RAND

Stanford University, and University of California


Tufts-New England Medical Center


University of Alberta

University of Ottawa

University of Minnesota


Online Journals

Evidence-based Nursing (free 1998-2005; registration required)

Evidence-based Medicine (free 2000-2005; registration required)

Evidence-based Complementary and Alternative Medicine (eCAM) (original articles are "open access" - free)

Back to Directory

Evaluation Guidelines, Government & Scholarly Search Engines, Misc. Web Resources, & online books

HON Code of Conduct (HONcode) for medical and health Web sites

URAC Health Web Site Standards

Evaluating Internet Information - Provided by Olson Library

Evaluating Journal Articles Criteria (see Prof. Strahan or course instructor)

USAGov Federal & State government web sites search engine

Google Scholar Search for scholarly literature including peer-reviewed papers, technical reports, and books. Results will include links to online articles through our subscriptions, or to search our library catalog.

Oxford Reference Online Premium a collection of full text illustrated encyclopedias, dictionaries, and works from the Oxford Companion series.  Includes Nursing and Medicine titles.

EBSCO eBook Collection (general & scholarly)

Books24x7 (illustrated computer books)

INFOMINE Scholarly Internet Resource Collections

Librarian's Index to the Internet Web sites evaluated by California librarians

Back to Directory

 


Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours