Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


NMU MSN-specific Resources
available through NMU Olson Library

Library Guide developed & Instruction provided by
Prof. Mike Strahan, Olson Library (227-2463)
AIM: NMULibraryGuy - Windows/MSN Live Messenger: mstrahan@nmu.edu
Updated 8/17/08

Locating theses & dissertations

NMU

Print and Electronic Theses *some full text
The library catalog contains print and electronic theses for NMU, and a few from Finlandia University. You have two options for locating theses. One is to browse by subject area. The other is to use the Guided Search screen, where you can combine the term thesis with an author's name, keyword term (e.g. nursing), etc.

Electronic Theses Only [Fall 2006 - present] *full text
NMU electronic theses are also contained in Proquest's Dissertations and Theses database. Since the library does not subscribe to the entire database, we can only search and view NMU theses. You cannot browse by department, but there are capabilities for locating theses by advisor, subjects (author assigned), and keywords (author assigned). Alternatively you can search using your own keywords.


CINAHL Plus with Full Text (library subscription only)

Countries covered:
Worldwide English-language; focus is on U.S. & Canada.
published 1982-present
doctoral dissertation Document Type Phrase
Multiple keyword searchable including author or title  

ABI/INFORM (Proquest--library subscription only)

Countries covered:
U.S. plus Australia, Belgium, Canada, Costa Rica, England, France, Hong Kong, Japan, Netherlands, New Zealand, People's Republic of China, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Sweden, & Switzerland
published before 2005
All subjects, although not uniformally covered in-depth Available online full-text PDF
Multiple keyword searchable including author or title  


Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations Union Catalog (freely-accessible)

Countries covered: worldwide published 1995-present
All subjects Mostly freely available online theses and dissertations
Multiple keyword searchable including author or title  

Theses Canada Portal (freely-accessible)

Country covered: Canada published 1995-2002
All subjects Freely available online theses and dissertations
Multiple keyword searchable including author or title  

WorldCat Dissertations & Theses (FirstSearch--library subscription only)

ERIC (FirstSearch--library subscription only)

Countries covered: worldwide published 1955-present
Education-related & counseling-related Theses and dissertations provided as ED (ERIC documents) (online Full-text PDF or microfiche)
Search by author or title  



National Library of Canada (Canadian institutions only)

Dissertation Express (UMI) (index only to purchase a dissertation or thesis)

Countries covered: North America & UK published 1865-present
All subjects Index only of availability in paper or microfilm formats
Title/Author searchable; maximum of 40 results displayed  

 

Libdex -- Use Libdex to locate library catalog of granting institution where dissertation or thesis was submitted, then search catalog for item and availability.

 

 



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours