Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


PE 470 : Sports Psychology
Instructor: Herb Grenke

 

Browsing for Journal Articles (via some key Sports Psychology titles)
Following are some key journals relating to sports psychology. It is important to note, though, that many general psychology or sports journals will also include relevant articles. These four titles can be used as a starting point to help identify a topic. Once you have a topic, you will be better served by searching the two databases listed later in this guide.

 

Psychology of Sport and Exercise

Journal of Sport Behavior

Journal of Sport and Exercise Psychology
Only available in print. From 1988 to present. Located in the Current Periodicals section of the library (see map).

International Journal of Sports Psychology
Only available in print. From 1984 to present. Located in the Current Periodicals section of the library (see map).



Searching for Journal Articles (via the library's databases)
When searching the library databases you will only retrieve citations to articles. To actually get an article you need to click on the button, which is located in every citation (either at th the top or the bottom, depending on the database) or sometimes in your list of results.

One you click on the button, a separate window will open that tells you if the article is available electronically or not. If not then you will have to see if the library owns the journal in print. This short guide will quickly show you how to use the search for full text option (called Article Linker) to locate any articles from within a database.

 

Sport Discus
Provides literature relating to sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, recreation, facilities and equipment, and more.
Dates of Coverage: 1830 - present
Types of Materials: 2,000 journals, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, reports, and newsletter.

PsycINFO
This database provides access to the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. Providing physiological and neurological perspectives along with traditional psychological views, PsychInfo will be relevant to various topics in exercise science, e.g. the effects of competition on athletes psyche, use of imagery in improving athletic performance, motor coordination in football players, etc.
Dates of Coverage: 1806 - present
Types of Materials: 1,300 journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and reports.



Style Guide for Citing Articles in Papers
APA Style Guide
Includes examples of how to cite materials in both paper and online formats.

For help with any of these resources, contact Kevin McDonough, Reference Librarian.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours