Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


PL 330: Existentialism
Instructor: Don Dreisbach

Library Resource Guide

Locating Books

Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.  Cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns.  Use one of the databases listed below for locating articles.

          Use the Library of Congress Subject Headings search as a means to browse various           subheadings of a topic.

Selected Resources
New Catholic Encyclopedia - Reference Collection, BX 841 .N44
The Encyclopedia of Religion - Reference Collection, BL 31 .E46
World philosophy : Essay-Reviews of 225 Major Works - Reference Collection, B 29 .W68
Sacramentum Mundi; An Encyclopedia of Theology - Reference Collection, BR 95 . S25
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

If our library doesn't have the books you need, you should then search MeLCat, the Michigan electronic Library Catalog. You can request items from over 250 public and academic libraries in the state of Michigan. You will usually receive items requested through MeLCat in about a week.

Worldwide, use WorldCat  (Note: To retrieve & view online theses & dissertations, enter key words, click on "Internet Resources" & change "Any Content" drop box to "Thesis/dissertation".

If you find an item you want in WorldCat that isn't held by the Olson Library or MeLCat, you may request it by using InterLibrary Loan: Before submitting your first ILL request, you must register with the system (one time). Register Now (use your NMU ID and password to get to the registration page).

The average time to receive requested materials is 1-3 weeks.


Sources for Locating Journal Articles

JSTOR
The complete, searchable, full text articles from over 270 core scholarly journals (every issue up to the last 1-5 years). Includes 18 journals in philosophy and 16 journals in language & literature.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature including peer-reviewed papers, technical reports, and books. Look for the "Full-Text @ NMU" link to obtain an electronic copy of the article or the "Locate a print copy @ NMU" to see if the library has the item in our print collection. Google Scholar is also a great tool for finding other articles related to one's you already have (citation searching). Search for the title of an article or book you have and click the "Cited by" link to see other articles related to this one.

Catalog of Government Publications
As the title says, this link will take you to a catalog of government publications of all types.

MLA
The preeminent index to scholarly publications in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics. Articles date back to 1926.

Philosopher's Index
A printed index to philosophical books and journal articles. Consult the library catalog to see if Olson Library owns a particular book or journal. Indexes cover from 1940 to the present. Located in the Indexes & Abstracts collection of the library (see Map) and shelved under the call number: B 72 .P43.

PsycINFO
An abstract database of psychological literature from 1805–present published by the American Psychological Association. Indexes books, book chapters, journals, theses and dissertations, reports, and other secondary publications plus foreign language periodicals written in over 25 languages. Also included are over 20 million cited references from journal articles, books, and book chapters. Updated weekly.

 


Citation Sytle Guides

Turabian Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations. Consult the Manual in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.
Reference Collection: LB2369 .T8

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.  Consult the Manual in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.
Reference Collection: BF 76.7 P83

MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Handbook in the library Reference Collection for sources not listed at this site.
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53


Further Assistance

If you need help with any of these resources you can ask for assistance at the Library's Reference Desk (227-2294 or live chat) or contact Mollie Freier (227-1061), Reference Librarian.

 



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours