Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


Political Science Resources: U.S. Government

Reference Resources (print & electronic)

The American Political Dictionary. REF JK 9 .P55 2002.

Congressional Pictorial Directory. Online and print. Government Documents call number: Y 4.P 93/1: 1P/(YEAR).

Congressional Bibliography. 1774-present.

The United States Government Manual. Published yearly by the Government Printing Office. "Comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution."

CQ's Politics in America 2008: The 110th Congress. REF JK 1012 .P8 (Year)

Guide to Congress, voulmes 1 and 2. REF JK 1021 .C565 (Year).

Guide to U.S. Elections, volumes 1 and 2. REF JK 1976 .G85.

Congressional Quarterly Almanac. REF KF 49 .C652 (year).
A major resource. Published yearly, the Almanac discusses fiscal matters, major legislation, House & Senate votes, impacts of elections (if held). There is online access to this resource.

U.S. Code Congressional & Administrative News (published for each session of Congress in multiple volumes). REF KF 63 .U53 (year).
4 volumes make up the first session of the 110th Congress (2007). Volumes 1-3 cover public laws enacted as well as a "who's who" in government (members of Congress, their committee memberships), while volume 4 contains legislative histories, proclamations, executive orders, ans signing statements. Older copies are moved to the 3rd floor.

Electronic resources reference page (more than U.S. government resources).

Researching Current Federal Legislation and Regulations: A Guide to Resources for Congressional Staff. From the Congressional Research Service. For everyone, not just Congressional staffers.

U.S. Government

The LLRX.com resource has a list of many websites and resources that track legislation and regulations. Two lists: one from 2009 and one from 2010 complement one another. Additionally, Scout, from the Sunlight Foundation.

Maplight.org. This resource "...illuminates the connection between campaign donations and legislative votes in unprecedented ways. Elected officials collect large sums of money to run their campaigns, and they often pay back campaign contributors with special access and favorable laws" and combines three datasets: bill texts and legislative voting records; supporting and opposing interests for each bill, and; campaign contribution data from the Center for Responsive Politics and the National Institute on Money in State Politics.

CQ Weekly.
Weekly coverage of issues in the U.S. Congress and Washington.

CQ Researcher.
In-depth, non-biased reports on political and social issues, with regular coverage of topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

Federal Government Documents Collection, NMU Library.
Many web and print resources (some repeated on this page) with a focus on publications from the U.S. Government as well as additional resources.

Catalog of Government Publications
Listed again because of the importance of this resource.

Federal Digital System (FDSys) search.
A rather nice and ever-growing database from the GPO that contains the following full-text publications:
Budget of the United States Government (Fiscal Years 2010 and 2011)
Code of Federal Regulations (2004 to 2010)
Compilation of Presidential Documents (1993 to Present)
Commerce Business Daily Bulk Data (1996 to 2001)
Congressional Bills (103rd Congress to Present)
Congressional Calendars (104th Congress to Present)
Congressional Committee Prints (105th Congress to Present)
Congressional Directory (105th Congress to Present)
Congressional Documents (104th Congress to Present)
Congressional Hearings (105th Congress to Present)
Congressional Record (Bound) (1999 to 2001)
Congressional Record (Daily) (1994 to Present)
Congressional Record Index (Daily) (1983 to Present)
Congressional Reports (104th Congress to Present)
Economic Indicators (1995 to Present)
Economic Report of the President (1995 to Present)
Federal Register (1994 to Present)
GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions (1994 to 2008)
House Rules and Manual (104th to 111th Congresses)
History of Bills (1983 to Present)
List of CFR Sections Affected (1997 to Present)
Precedents of the U.S. House of Representatives (Cannon, Deschler, and Hinds)
Public and Private Laws (104th Congress to Present)
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (1991 to 2005)
Senate Manual (104th, 106th, 107th, and 110th Congresses)
Supreme Court Decisions 1937-1975 (FLITE) Bulk Data (1937 to 1975)
United States Government Manual (1995 to Present)
United States Code (2006 to 2008)
United States Statutes at Large (2003 to 2006)

Use any of the following subjects to locate books in the NMU library catalog: "United States Politics and Government", "Political Science United States", "Federal Government United States", "State governments United States", "United States Congress", "Presidents United States", "Democracy United States", "Michigan Politics and government". (just don't forget to select the Library of Congress Subject Headings radio button).

Journal Resources

You can now easily search across nearly all library databases (including the catalog):

Or you could search specific Political Science databases/resources.

JSTOR. A popular resource for many disciplines, this database is full-text. First do two limiters: limit your search to "articles", then limit your search to the journals covering Political Science and/or Public Policy & Administration.

Google Scholar Advanced Search . Also popular, it is less a database and more of an additional access point to our databases. You might want to first limit your search to the Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities.

Academic Onefile. A general database that has a little bit of everything (nearly 5000 full-text journals and magazines and nearly 12,000 indexed).

Specific ejournal Collections

Some publishers make it easy (somewhat) to narrow down their resources by subject. Below are a few that can be narrowed down to Political Science.

The Sage Complete A-Z List of electronic journals has a subject section on Political Science. Click on the "Browse journals by discipline" once the page opens. Politics appears under their "Social Science & Humanities" collection.

The Directory of Open Access Journals is a listing of free, scholarly articles in a variety of subjects. It is worldwide; not just the U.S. Here is the link to their Law & Political Science page.

Cambridge Journals Online. Select Politics & International Relations under "Browse Journals by Subject".

If you need help with any of these resources, ask for assistance at the Library's Reference Desk (227-2294), use the live chat, or contact Bruce Sarjeant, Reference Librarian (227-1580).



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours