Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


Library Resource Guide
for PS 501 & 524

For help with any of these resources, email Bruce Sarjeant or phone (906-227-1580).

Budget Sources

Budget of the United States (1996 - present)
Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.

For the the Budget prior to 1996, print editions are in the U.S. Documents collection (PrEx 2.8). These do not circulate.

Federal Agency Locator
If you want to locate a particular federal agency to see if they have posted budget information, this link will help. An additional resource is the A-Z Agency list from USA.gov. Budget information might be available from the agency website itself.

Books and E-references

Library Catalog
Contains the books, government documents, and audio-visual materials in Olson Library and three other libraries in the U.P.

MelCat
A library catalog for over 200 participating Michigan libraries. Any item you find you can request directly and it will be delivered to our library here at NMU.

WorldCat
A library catalog for over 20,000 libraries world wide.

Congressional Quarterly Almanac (Ref KF 49 .C652)
CQ Almanac provides an in-depth analysis of the path legislation takes through Congress, including how bills are changed, derailed, or ultimately passed during an annual session of Congress. The reference collection has policy coverage through 2007. For more recent policy action see CQ Weekly below.

CQ Weekly
CQ Weekly covers virtually every act of Congress, delivering nonpartisan news and analysis. Provides in-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap-up of the previous week’s news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates, and all roll-call votes

Additional budget information, in the way of background information, testimony, hearings, assessment, planning, etc., can be located via the following resources:


Journal and Newspaper Articles

Access World News
Access World News provides information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all the content or on particular states, countries, or continents. Indexing is cover-to-cover and coverage extends for some titles back to the mid 1970s. Excluded are any photos or graphs, along with paid advertising, classifieds, and paid obituaries.

Westlaw Campus
Covers all legislative, administrative, and judicial decisions. Use Westlaw if you are interested in reading the actual language of a law, rule, or case.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours