Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


Py 100H: Honors Psychology as a Natural Science
Library Resource Guide

Library Materials


Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.  To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map . Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers.

The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.).  See Journal and Magazine Articles below for locating articles.

eBooks (EBSCO eBook Collection)
A collection of more than 19,500 digital versions of books. In addition to being able to navigate through the contents of a book page by page, you have the ability to navigate using the Table of Contents, the Index, or to search the full text of the eBook. You can view the book for 15 minutes (no account needed) or checkout the book for 6 hours (requires creating a free account).

CQ Researcher
A weekly publication covering the critical events and controversial subjects of the day.  Each issue offers an in-depth analysis of a contemporary topic.  A good source for selecting a topic since you can browse issues by topic. Also available in-print from 1991-2003 in the bound Periodicals Collection (call number: H 35 .E352).

Journal and Magazine Articles

General OneFile
Index to articles in over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Services.  Indexing begins in 1980 with full text starting in 1983.  Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.

PsycINFO
An abstract database of psychological literature from 1805–present published by the American Psychological Association. Types of Sources: Books, book chapters, journals, theses and dissertations, reports, and other secondary publications plus foreign language periodicals written in over 25 languages. Also included are over 20 million cited references from journal articles, books, and book chapters. Updated weekly.

Borrowing Materials From Other Libraries

Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain materials not owned by Olson Library.  Materials such as books and periodical articles, among other sources, can be borrowed from other libraries.  The average time to receive requested materials is 1-2 weeks and you will be notified by email when your items arrive.  Consult the above link to submit a request and for further details.

Plagiarism and Style Guides (citing your sources)

Plagiarism is using someone else's ideas or words & claiming them as your own without properly citing or attributing to the source. As the wealth of information in a variety of formats become easier to access on the Internet, it is increasingly important to properly cite where you find information. For further information, consult the NMU Writing Center handout on plagiarism, and the NMU Student Handbook policies on Academic Dishonesty under Student Rights & Responsibilities section 1.2.3, & Student Code section 2.2.3.

APA Style

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common types of sources, including web sites and online journal articles, according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association , 5th ed.  Consult the Manual in the Reference Collection (BF 76.7 P83) for further information or types of sources not listed here.

Need Further Assistance?

Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294.

 



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours