PY 100 : Psychology as a Natural Science
Professor Maya Sen
Library Resource Guide
Click on the Catalog tab above to search the library catalog for books, titles of periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.
To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map. Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers. Additional resources for books: the MelCat catalog and the WorldCat catalog.
The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines, journals, or newspapers, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.). Instead, use the OneSearch tab above to search for articles.
Electronic Sources - Database
Description : An abstract database of psychological literature from 1805-present published by the American Psychological Association. Types of Sources: Books, book chapters, journals, theses and dissertations, reports, and other secondary publications plus foreign language periodicals written in over 25 languages. Also included are over 20 million cited references from journal articles, books, and book chapters. Updated weekly.
Description : A database of full-text articles in English from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. Date of Coverage: 1985 to the present. Updated daily.
ERIC - Contains records for scholarly & trade journal articles, and ERIC Documents (ED's) (reports/documents, lesson plans, theses, dissertations, and conference papers).
Social Services Abstracts (1980-present)
This database abstracts and indexes over 1,406 serial publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
Sociological Abstracts (1952-present)
This is the premier database for sociology and related disciplines. Some of the topics covered include culture and social structure, family and social welfare, and demography. This database covers a wide range of documents including over 1600 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations.
JSTOR - The complete, searchable, full text articles from over 1,000 core scholarly journals (every issue up to the last 1-5 years). Journals are divided into 47 disciplines including, Psychology (7 journals) , Education (50 journal titles), Sociology (47 titles), General Science (8 journals). Coverage: 1878 to "moving wall" of 1-5 years before the most recently published issue.
Collections totalling more than 50,000 e-books. In addition to being able to navigate through the contents of a book page by page, you have the ability to navigate using the Table of Contents, the Index, or to search the full text of the eBook. Downloading Adobe Digital will open up these resources to you.
A collection of electronic books, book chapters, essays, and conferences written in English, and available in PDF full-text. Works deal with psychology and psychiatry, and are published by the American Psychological Association and classic books from other publishers. Includes the 8-volume Encyclopedia of Psychology (2000). Date of Coverage: 1806 to the present (approximately 1900 records for works prior to 1953). Updated monthly.
Mental measurements yearbook
Mental Measurements Yearbook access to full text of reviews of over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. All full text entries include - descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing), edited review(s). Electronic coverage Volume 9 (1985) to present. Print coverage in Olson Library coverage Volume 1 -16 (2005)
Borrowing Materials from Other Libraries
MelCat , the Michigan Electronic Library Catalog, allows you to search public and academic libraries throughout the State of Michigan and request books and media. Items usually arrive in about a week. This resource is provided by the Michigan eLibrary (http://mel.org). You will be notified by email when your items arrive.
InterLibrary Loan also allows you to obtain materials not owned by the Olson LIbrary. Books, periodical articles,and other sources can be borrowed from other libraries. The average time to recieve requested materials is 1-2 weeks and you will be notified by email when your items arrive.
Contains peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Provides unique features, such as relevance ranking of your results, the ability to find "Related Articles", and the opportunity to see other papers that have cited a specific paper. A couple of drawbacks include limited searching capabilities (full text or title), and no consistent links directly to the article.
Electronic Reference Sources - Psychology These sources collected by Olson Librarians for easy access to reference sources in and out of the library collection.
APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common types of sources, including web sites and online journal articles, according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association , 5th ed. Consult the Manual in the Reference Collection (BF 76.7 P83) for further information or types of sources not listed here.
Zotero is a free extension to Mozilla Firefox. It stores citation information, and, with the use of Microsoft Word, will allow you to create citations as you write your paper and then create your works cited page at the end. You can download the extension at http://www.zotero.org/. The Olson Library provides a guide for the use of Zotero as well.
You can also store and format citations in Microsoft Word. Click here for instructions.
Need Further Assistance?
You can contact Mollie Freierby email or by phone at 227-1061.