Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


(

PY311: Thinking and Cognition

Library Resource Guide

Library Materials

Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.  It cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns.  Use one of the databases listed below for locating articles. To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map . Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers .

eBooks (EBSCO eBook Collection)
A collection of more than 19,500 digital versions of books. In addition to being able to navigate through the contents of a book page by page, you have the ability to navigate using the Table of Contents, the Index, or to search the full text of the eBook. You can view the book for 15 minutes (no account needed) or checkout the book for 6 hours (requires creating a free account).

Online Reference Books (library subscription)
Oxford Reference Online Premium - Political & Social Sciences Works (Advanced Search) - a collection of full text illustrated encyclopedias, dictionaries, and works from the Oxford Companion series.  Fully searchable and printable. Psychology-related titles include A Dictionary of Psychology (2003), Dictionary of the Social Sciences (2002), and Oxford Companion to the Body (2003).

 

Electronic Sources - Journal and Magazine Articles - Discipline specific

Psychology Search : This collection of databases includes ERIC, JSTOR, Psych Books, Info and Articles

PsycINFO
Description : An abstract database of psychological literature from 1805-present published by the American Psychological Association. Types of Sources: Books, book chapters, journals, theses and dissertations, reports, and other secondary publications plus foreign language periodicals written in over 25 languages. Also included are over 20 million cited references from journal articles, books, and book chapters. Updated weekly.

PsycARTICLES
Description : A database of full-text articles in English from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. Date of Coverage: 1985 to the present. Updated daily.

PsycBooks
Description : A collection of electronic books, book chapters, essays, and conferences written in English, and available in PDF full-text. Works deal with psychology and psychiatry, and are published by the American Psychological Association and classic books from other publishers. Includes the 8-volume Encyclopedia of Psychology (2000). Date of Coverage: 1806 to the present (approximately 1900 records for works prior to 1953). Updated monthly.

JSTOR   - The complete, searchable, full text articles from over 1,000 core scholarly journals (every issue up to the last 1-5 years). Journals are divided into 47 disciplines including, Psychology  (7 journals) , Education (50 journal titles), Sociology (47 titles), General Science  (8 journals). Coverage: 1878 to "moving wall" of 1-5 years before the most recently published issue.

Mental measurements yearbook Mental Measurements Yearbook access to full text of reviews of over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.  All full text entries include - descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing), edited review(s). Electronic coverage Volume 9 (1985) to present. Print coverage in Olson Library coverage Volume 1 -16 (2005)

 

InterLibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) - Acquiring materials not held by Olson Library ** Before submitting your first ILL request, you must register with the system (one time): Register Now (First time users)

Before submitting request, you must verify through Full Text Electronic Journal Holdings and the NMU library catalog that we do not subscribe to journal/magazine issue in either paper or online formats, or we do not hold the book/video/etc.

While in an online database (e.g., PsycInfo), submit requests by clicking on Request form link located in http://library.nmu.edu/guides/courseguides/py205_clip_image002.gifpopup box.

Allow minimum of 10 days to receive materials; request default is 30 days.

Internet Search Engines

Google Scholar (Advance Search) - Search for scholarly literature including peer-reviewed papers, technical reports, and books.

 

APA Style Guide

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common types of sources, including web sites and online journal articles, according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association , 5th ed.  Consult the Manual in the Reference Collection (BF 76.7 P83) for further information or types of sources not listed here.

Need Further Assistance?

Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294.

 

 



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours